The sources you choose for the annotated bibliography should be sources you will use (or that could potentially be used) in your final paper for the course. If you're going to do all the work that an annotated bibliography entails, why not make it count! The assignment requires a minimum of ten annotated sources. As you begin to do initial research, start to develop a potential research question from which your argument will ultimately come. For the purposes of the annotated bibliography, it will be best if the sources you find are used to support a single argument or thesis statement. You also want to include a variety of sources, i.e. books, reference sources, and peer-reviewed and published journal articles. Use the resources available here and others available from the library web site to locate your sources.
Each entry of the annotated bibliography should include the full bibliographic information about the work according to APA style (6th edition). See the resources here for help with APA style. For each source on the References page, you will provide an annotation. Each annotation should:
Annotations are meant to be helpful for the writer/researcher; the information included in an annotation should be information that will be helpful to the writer/researcher as he/she begins the process of composing and integrating sources into the paper. It is important that you refer to the SEWS Rubric for more specifics on the criteria by which I will grade your citations and annotations. Also see the sample annotated bibliography and the sample annotations from the OWL at Purdue.
Please note that APA requires the word "References" centered at the top of the page. Also, the actual annotations should begin on the line beneath each citation on the list aligned with the hanging indent. No extra spaces should be between the citation and the annotation; the entire document should be double-spaced. Because the sources that will compose your annotated bibliography will be tied to your paper, include your working paper premise or argument at the top of the first page of the annotated bibliography.