Skip to main content

Dr. Lon and Elizabeth Parr Reed Health Sciences Library: Mobile

 

Mobile Applications

Mobile Apps

App App Name Description
3D Muscular Premium Anatomy 3D graphic of the body's muscles. Features information and layers. Limited to running on the iPhone 4/4S.
AAP Red Book AAP's Red Book app--requires a yearly subscription to Red Book ($125 per year).
Bone Box Skull Viewer Features 3D rotating ability of the human skull with pins, locations, and additional information.
Drugs & Bugs Features a database of over 300 pathogens and anti-infective agents. Includes charts, drug monographs, and smart search capabilities.
ECG Guide Offers over 200 sample ECGs for viewing and includes commentary. Has detailed reference information on how to interpret ECGs; includes quizzes.
Heart Pro III A 3D visual of the heart along with 19 animations (more are available for an additional fee); developed by Stanford University School of Medicine. Allows one to write on any image and share via social networks.
iMuscle A useful app for sports medicine. Shows the muscles, provides animation, and gives videos for exercises.
Muscle System Pro III Developed by Stanford University School of Medicine, this app shows muscles and their movements. Includes 3D views of the muscles plus videos showing the muscles' movements. Allows one to toggle muscles and explore rotation.
Netter's Anatomy Atlas The full Netter's Anatomy Atlas in App form, customized for the iPad. A highly rated, albeit expensive, app.
Pocket Body A widely acclaimed app features multiple layers of the body's anatomy with 3D visualization. Includes hundreds of pins with detailed information and quizzes.
Skeletal System Pro III A highly rated app that features 3D rotational views of the skeletal system. Includes over 700 pins and the ability to mix layers and add notes.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas 2 Highly regarded app that features 3D exploring of the body--easily rotate to see views. Includes all body systems--male and female. Works on iPad 2 or higher and iPhone 4 or higher models.
App App Name Description
3D Brain A 3D visualization of the brain. Shows names and sections of the brain.
ABG Acid-Base Eval Multistep analysis for ABGs and electrolytes to improve patient care. Targeted towards clinicians, NPs, PAs and other medical professionals.
Access Medicine Not an app, but a mobile version of Access Medicine. Now features full content including: Harrisons, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas & Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Clinician's Pocket Reference, Current Practice Guidelines, Current Diagnosis and Treatment series and more. To access, open Access Medicine on a desktop computer here. Click "My Access Medicine" and register for a free personal account. Go to the mobile Access Medicine link here and login with the username and password you created.
AHRQ ePSS Browse recommendations to identify preventive services appropriate for patients.
Atlas of Pancreas Pathology Features an interactive teaching algorithim, an image atlas, and an image quiz. Produced by Johns Hopkins University.
Brain MRI Atlas Has brain images with color structural identifiers
Calculate (QxMD) Features over 150 calculators in a variety of specialties; one of the most comprehensive medical calculator apps available.
CDC App Center for Disease Control and Prevention's App--features MMWR report, image library, and podcasts
CT Contrast Protocols Examines the role and use of IV contrast material
CTisus iQuiz Features quizzes (updated monthly) on CT education including organ systems. Each quiz question comes with "pearls" and discussion featuring youtube videos that clarify the topic
Diagnose This app allows users to incorporate validated findings from the history, physical examination and investigations to calculate an evidence-based likelihood of disease.
Ebscohost To install this app, you must open an Ebscohost database on a university computer or via secure login. Databases include: PsycINFO, CINAHL, Science Full Text and others. Go to the search page. At the bottom of the page, you will see a link for "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications." You will be prompted to enter your email so that a key and download link can be sent for installation of the app. Note that this app includes all EBSCO databases that the library purchases. Under the "settings" tab of the app, be sure that the appropriate database is checked; you can also search multiple EBSCO databases by clicking the database names you wish to search.

For more instructions, see here.
EFM Guide Recommendations and guidelines from the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG) on electronic fetal monitoring
Emergency Medicine News A free newsletter discussing the latest trends in emergency medicine
ENT Handbook An basic ENT Handbook for the Ipad--developed in Australia
Epocrates Mobile drug reference, interaction check, and calculators; requires creating a free account
Eponyms for Students Contains over 1,700 medical eponyms with short descriptions--a highly rated reference tool
Healthcare Informatics Interactive magazine discussing the latest trends in health informatics
Heart Decide Features visual graphics of the heart and cardiac diseases. Includes four sections: anatomy, conditions, solutions, and find a specialist.
Heart Murmur Lite The free lite version contains 10 heart beats/sounds; the paid version contains an additional 13 sounds. Each sound is accompanied by the respective graph.
Human Anatomy Color human anatomy charts with additional text information about each point
iRadiology Features over 500 images with radiological findings
LactMed Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this app features a list of drugs and supplements that may interact with breastfeeding infants. One can search by drug name or drug class.
Mango Features over sixty foreign languages. One must register and create a username and password within our subscription to Mango here to be able to download and use the mobile app. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for all LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.
MediBabble Offers a variety of clinical inquiries that can be translated through audio in Creole, Russian, Chinese, Spanish, French, and German
Micromedex Drug Interactions

Full treatment pictures including prevention, clinical manifestations, probabilities, timeframes, and ratings.

For more instructions, see here.

Micromedex Drug Reference

Comprehensive drug information including dosing, administration, contraindications, and toxicology---highly recommended for all medical and health science students.

For more instructions, see here.

Micromedex IV Compatibility

Provides drug-solution and drug-drug compatibility results from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database.

For more instructions, see here.

NeuroMind Highly ranked app featuring clinical support and scores for neurosurgery
New England Journal of Medicine This Week A free app that gives full text of articles, editorials, opinions, and images from the current issue of NEJM.
Omnio Offers drug information, outlines in clinical medicine, medical calculators, and the latest medical news. Requires the creation of a free personal account
PE & DVT DX Offers one algorithm for DVT diagnosis and two algorithms for PE diagnosis; discusses diagnostic approach and workup for hypercoagulable state.
Pepid Pepid Elements is the free version--toxicology reference
PFT Eval Information for analyzing a Pulmonary Function Test; answers common questions and uses a stepwise approach for instruction
Pneumonia Guide Features pneumonia guidelines from the American Thoracic Society along with answers to common questions
ProcedurePro ProcedurePro features a wide variety of videos showing various medical procedures
Prognosis: Your Diagnosis Sample clinical case studies-- a new case is added every week.
PsychTerms Has over 1,000 commonly used psychiatric and mental health terms and definitions for review
PubMed (Unbound MEDLINE) Requires the creation of a free personal account. This app has the best interface of any free PubMed apps. Note that you will be unable to see what resources the Reed Health Sciences Library owns and that complex searches are difficult to run on a mobile interface.
Radiology 2.0 Features modern radiology teaching. Users can view CT scans with explanations.
Read (QxMD) A highly useful app that allows one to read full text journals on their mobile device by going through the LMU proxy. You can follow certain journals, search and browse by topic, and browse by specialty. One of the best comprehensive apps to read medical literature on a mobile device. Requires the creation of a free account. Click on "My Proxy" and search for LMU. Enter your LMU username and password. You will then be permanently logged in through LMU.
Speed Anatomy Lite An interactive way to learn and review human anatomy
Speed Bones Lite An interactive way to learn and review the human bones
Stat!Ref

Only LMU faculty, staff, and students may download the Stat!Ref app. Offers mobile access to e-books through Stat!Ref. You must create an account through Stat!Ref initially before downloading the mobile app.

For more instructions, see here.

Touch Surgery Features interactive 3D surgical procedures that allow one to interactively move through common surgeries. Excellent resource for learning the basics of common surgeries.
UpToDate

Popular point-of-care reference tool.

For more instructions, see here.

Visual Anatomy Lite Interactive human anatomy charts with definitions and quiz; features images from Gray's Anatomy
VisualDX

One must be a LMU faculty member, student, or staff member to install this resource for free. To install, open the VisualDX link here on a desktop computer. Log into the proxy; your username is firstname.lastname, and your password is your email address password. Then click on the link for “Get VisualDx Mobile Free.” Fill out the form and click submit. You will receive a password via email. Open the App Link above and install. Click on the icon for VisualDx on your mobile device. Confirm you are of age to use the program. Then log in using the email address you used for registration and the password provided to you from VisualDx. This resource includes an interactive tool for finding differential diagnoses based on visual findings.

For more instructions, see here.

WarfarinGuide Offers resources for anticoagulation with Warfarin: reviews latest recommendations, offers a protocol for Warfarin dosing based upon INR results, and a discussion of protocols for using Warfarin.
App App Name Description
3D Anatomy A 3D app for learning human anatomy with 3D position quiz, built on an advanced interactive 3D touch interface.
COMLEX Level 1 Flashcards Study for the COMLEX (Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination) Level 1 with over 3000 questions that will help you master the material to do well on Level 1 of the COMLEX.
CORE-Clinical Orthopaedic Exam The Clinical Orthopedic Exam offers you a robust database of over 400 clinical tests with descriptions on how to perform them, video demonstrations, diagnostic properties and links to supporting medical references.
Diagnosaurus DDx This quick-reference resource allows you to browse over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, and disease or use the Universal Index Search to find exactly what you need.
Dorland’s Medical Dictionary Dorland’s Medical Dictionary contains approximately 40,000 entries and 350 illustrations and provides authoritative, concise definitions for a wide range of terms used in the health sciences, including anatomy, physiology, diseases, drugs, tests and procedures and much more.
Emergency Medicine Flashcards This app contains 264 vivid full-color flash cards, covering the most common and acute clinical presentations in emergency medicine. Each flash card provides Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, and Treatment information. There is also a Q&A section in this app that will allow you to test your knowledge.
Family Medicine Board Review Family Medicine Board Review includes 1000 multiple choice fact, scenario and case-based questions for the ABFM exam
Infectious Disease Compendium Over 600 pages of information on antibiotics, organisms and diseases.
Internal Medicine Board Review Internal Medicine Board Review includes 1000 multiple choice fact, scenario and case-based questions.
Johns Hopkins Apps Johns Hopkins provides several highly rated paid apps on the topics of Diabetes, HIV, antibiotics, and OB/GYN.
Journal Club for Android Powered by Wiki Journal Club, Journal Club for Android focuses on the top articles in internal medicine and puts landmark trials at your fingertips.
Lab Values + Medical Reference Inside this one app you’ll find Lab Reference Values, Medical Abbreviations and Medical Prefix/Suffix, all at hand and ready to use, anytime, anywhere.
Medical Mnemonics 1500+ clever acronyms, rhymes, and memory tricks, on topics ranging from Anatomy and Biochemistry to Pharmacology and Surgery.
Pedi STAT Enter weight, age, length or Broselow color and view extensive data on critical care drug dosing and life support management.
Speed Angiology MD How fast can you point to specific veins and arteries?  This game tests your angiology knowledge.
Speed Bones MD How fast can you point to your trapezium, trapezoid or triquetrum?  This game tests your skeletal knowledge.
Speed Muscles MD How fast can you point to your latissimus, longissimus or lumbricals?  This game tests your knowledge of the body's muscles.
USMLE Qbanks - Combo 1-2-3 This USMLE Combo 1-2-3 question bank contains thousands of images, audio and video.
Visual Anatomy Visual Anatomy is an interactive reference, and education tool. The full version contains more than 400 high-resolution images and more than 850 feature points which can be interactively selected.
Visual Bones Visual Bones is an interactive reference, and education tool. It not only covers bones from all the main regions of the body but also includes internal skull bones, laryngeal skeleton, ear bones, hand bones and foot bones. In additional, it includes several ligaments in the shoulder region, ankle and knee region and 6 types of synovial joints. Over 100 bone markers are added.
App App Name Description
Access Medicine Not an app, but a mobile version of Access Medicine. Now features full content, including: Harrisons, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas & Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Clinician's Pocket Reference, Current Practice Guidelines, Current Diagnosis & Treatment series and more. This would be a useful point-of-care tool. To access, open Access Medicine on a desktop computer here. Click "My Access Medicine" and register for a free personal account. Go to the mobile Access Medicine here and login with the username and password you created.
AHRQ ePSS Browse recommendations to identify preventive services appropriate for patients.
Calculate (QxMD) Features over 150 calculators in a variety of specialties; one of the most comprehensive medical calculator apps available.
STD Treatment Guide CDC Useful app from the CDC featuring guidelines on STD treatment
Diagnose This app allows users to incorporate validated findings from the history, physical examination and investigations to calculate an evidence-based likelihood of disease.
Ebscohost

To install this app, you must open an Ebscohost database on a university computer or via secure login. Databases include: PsycINFO, CINAHL, Science Full Text and others. Go to the search page. At the bottom of the page, you will see a link for "EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications." You will be prompted to enter your email so that a key and download link can be sent for installation of the app. Note that this app includes all EBSCO databases that the library purchases. Under the "settings" tab of the app, be sure that the appropriate database is checked; you can also search multiple EBSCO databases by clicking the database names you wish to search.

For more instructions, see here.

Epocrates Mobile drug reference, interaction check, and calculators; requires creating a free account
Eponyms Contains over 1,700 medical eponyms with short descriptions--a highly rated reference tool
LactMed Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this app features a list of drugs and supplements that may interact with breastfeeding infants. One can search by drug name or drug class.
Medical Tools Features latest health news, reports, and CME/CE credit
Medical Xpress Features daily news in a wide variety of medical specialties
Medscape Offers drug information, procedure descriptions, and a newly designed interface
Micromedex Drug Reference

Comprehensive drug information including dosing, administration, contraindications, and toxicology---highly recommended for all medical and health science students.

For more instructions, see here.

NeuroMind Highly ranked app featuring clinical support and scores for neurosurgery
Omnio Offers drug information, outlines in clinical medicine, medical calculators, and the latest medical news. Requires the creation of a free personal account
PubMed Mobile An alternative for searching PubMed in a mobile format. Be aware that accessing PubMed in this format will not show the resources that the Reed Library owns.
PubMed (Unbound MEDLINE) Requires the creation of a free personal account. One of the best apps to search PubMed in a mobile format. Be aware that accessing PubMed in this format will not show the resources that the Reed Library owns.
Scholar Droid The app version of Google Scholar. Allows one to search scholarly literature in an easy-to-use format.
Speed Anatomy Lite An interactive way to learn and review human anatomy
Stat!Ref

Only LMU faculty, staff, and students may download the Stat!Ref app. Offers mobile access to e-books through Stat!Ref. You must create an account through Stat!Ref initially before downloading the mobile app.

For more instructions, see here.

Touch Surgery Features interactive 3D surgical procedures that allow one to interactively move through common surgeries. Excellent resource for learning the basics of common surgeries.
UpToDate

Popular point-of-care reference tool. 

For more instructions, see here.

VisualDX

One must be a LMU faculty member, student, or staff member to install this resource for free. To install, open the VisualDX link here on a desktop computer. Log into the proxy; your username is firstname.lastname, and your password is your email address password. Then click on the link for “Get VisualDx Mobile Free.” Fill out the form and click submit. You will receive a password via email. Open the App Link above and install. Click on the icon for VisualDx on your mobile device. Confirm you are of age to use the program. Then log in using the email address you used for registration and the password provided to you from VisualDx. This resource includes an interactive tool for finding differential diagnoses based on visual findings.

For more instructions, see here.

Loading