LMU Law Library: About Us

Much of the Law Library’s collection is in digital format, including primary source materials such as statutes, reporters, and regulations; secondary sources, such as treatises and monographs; and finding tools, such as digests, citators, and encyclopedias. The print collection includes Tennessee legal practice materials, Hornbooks, Nutshells, and other study materials that law students find useful. Their exact location may be determined by searching the LMU WorldCat catalog. 

Library Catalog

The Law Library print collection is searchable via Lincoln Memorial University’s online public access catalog (OPAC), WorldCat.The Law Library's ebook and ejournal collection is searchable via Aquabrowser, a federated search platform. Both WorldCat and Aquabrowser are accessible to students and faculty on and off campus, via the Internet. The majority of the Duncan School of Law Library’s collection is in a digital format and available to all students and faculty wherever they are and whenever they need access. To access WorldCat and Aquabrowser, follow the links provided.

Audiovisual Collections

Audiovisual materials are located in the first floor library in locked DVD cases. The self-checkout machine in the lobby unlocks the case after a patron has checked it out. Audiovisual materials circulate for five days with the option of one-time renewal if not requested by another patron.

Law Reviews and Journals

Law reviews and journals are available from several sources in digital format. Law reviews and journals are available through HeinOnline, a database that contains over 1,000 titles to academic law reviews in PDF, and via Lexis+ and Westlaw Edge. Specific holdings information and links to individual periodical titles is accessible from the A-Z List via the Law Library website. The Index to Legal Periodicals is a legal-specific subject and author index to law journal articles, and is accessible from the Law Library’s website and via Aquabrowser.

Government Publications

All basic federal documents related to legislative, executive, and administrative activities are available in digital format via ProQuest Congressional, and the Making of the Modern Law, both accessible via Aquabrowser on the Law Library’s website. The Duncan School of Law Library is not a Federal Depository Library.

Reference Services

Reference Librarians are available to assist with reference and research questions during daytime and evening peak hours. The Reference Librarian offices are placed throughout the building, embedded within faculty office wings. Reference services are offered in-person and in conjunction with virtual reference. The Duncan School of Law Library is using Mosio as our instant messaging (IM) solution to provide one-on-one virtual reference. All students and faculty have laptop computers with built-in video cameras and microphones.

Reference Hours

• Monday – Friday 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m
• Saturday 11:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
• Sunday 1:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Reference hours may change during examination periods, holidays, and interim periods. Changes to Reference Hours will be posted on the digital screen in the lobby, and communicated via Blackboard to the Duncan School of Law community.

Circulation

Our print collection is small, and we encourage patrons to explore it on the first and third floors of the law school. On the first floor, print study aids for first-year courses (Property, Torts, Civil Procedure, and Contracts) are marked with large signs. In addition, we have resources for legal writing, legal research, upper-level courses, and legal careers, as well as a large collection of DVDs. Most materials circulate for a two- or three-week period. Use the self checkout machine in the lobby to check out materials with your LMU ID card. Materials should be returned to the book cart next to the self checkout. 

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service is available to Duncan School of Law faculty, staff, and students. ILL enables libraries to share their collections globally. Contact a Reference Librarian to request materials not owned by the Duncan School of Law Library.

The LMU Law Library is open to all LMU faculty, staff, and students, and  alumni. Our primary responsibility is to serve the students and faculty of the LMU School of Law. The Law Library is not open to the public.  

It is the goal of the LMU Law Library administration and faculty to make the holdings of the Law Library as freely available to all patrons as is consistent with policies outlined in the Duncan School of Law Library Handbook.

The LMU Law Library is located at 601 W. Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, Tennessee, 37902. The law school front desk can be reached by calling (865) 545-5300.