A-Z List

Toggle Subjects

Databases

A-Z List of eBook & eJournal Titles

Connect

Search for eBooks and eJournals in any of the databases the law library subscribes to; alphabetically arranged.

Academic OneFile

Includes millions of articles from peer-reviewed journals and reference resources from 1980 to the present, and the full text of the New York Times from 1995 to the present.  Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, religion, and the arts and humanities.

Academic Search Premier

Connect

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

AccessMedicine

Connect

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill provides access to more than 60 medical titles, including the Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series, Tintinalli’s emergency medicine text, and Goodman & Gilman’s pharmacology text. Also includes updated content, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, videos, audio files, board review practice questions, drug information, diagnostic tests, guidelines, quick answers, case files, patient education, clerkship materials, and a comprehensive search platform. Users are able to view from and download content to a mobile device. There is a limit of five concurrent users at any given time.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)

Connect

AGRICOLA is a public domain Web site created by the National Agricultural Library with bibliographic databases of citations to the agricultural literature. The records describe publications and sources encompassing agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, and environmental sciences. The Web interface may contain citations or may link to agency authored publications.

Agriculture Collection

Includes comprehensive coverage of agriculture and its related fields, including full text articles from over 200 authoritative and current professional and academic journals which span the industry — from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

America: History and Life

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

American Chemical Society Journals

Connect

Full text access to 30+ selected titles published by the American Chemical Society; provides coverage of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, physical chemistry, and organic chemistry.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

Connect

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.

Annual Reviews

Connect

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 37 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field.

Applied Science and Technology Index

Connect

Find information from a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering—from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, and conference proceedings.

Aquabrowser

Connect

AquaBrowser Library provides a unified search solution. A one-stop information portal helps users find information in less time by connecting users to the library catalog, local databases and archives, websites and documents, and subscription databases.  One federated search in Aquabrowser produces results from all of the library’s resources.

ArticleFirst

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

ARTstor

Connect (See below)

The ARTstor Digital Library is repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data in a a fully searchable database. You may only access and use the ARTstor Digital Library, and any content in the Library, for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Please note that you must complete a free registration before using the full features of ARTstor.

AudioCaseFiles

Connect

AudioCaseFiles provides audio access to the most commonly assigned cases for first and second year law students, and features some of the best litigators in the nation on video. Register at http://www.audiocasefiles.com/register to create an account through LMU Duncan School of Law. Search by case name or cite.

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination

connect
Includes physical examination videos of systems, body regions, and patients by age. Unlike other databases, your user name is your full email address.

System Requirements

  • 56 kbs modem or higher speed broadband connection to the Internet;
  • Audio speakers or headphones

Windows

Mac

  • Download and install software that will allow your Mac to read “.wmv” files. Recommended: VideoLan’s VLC Media Player available from http://www.videolan.org/
  • For Safari users (Mac only): Click on the video you want. Follow the instructions for downloading the file to your Mac. Once the file has finished downloading, browse your hard drive for the file. Double click on the file to run it. You will be asked which application you want to use to run the file. Choose VLC. Your video should start automatically.
  • For Firefox users (Mac only): Click on the video you want to view. A pop-up box will appear asking which software you want to use to open the file. Browse your Mac for VLC. Click on VLC, click OK and your video will start playing automatically.
Biography Reference Center

Connect

Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including content from American National Biography, Biography’s Complete Collection, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, Columbia University Press Biographies, Congressional Biographies, Salem Press biographies, and much more.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

connect

WilsonWeb’s Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a bibliographic database that indexes English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. The database includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.

Coverage dates:Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1994+ .Biological & Agricultural Index Plus offers researchers convenient online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture—much of it from peer-reviewed journals—plus full text. Full text citations also link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research.

Subjects: Agricultural Chemicals, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Engineering, Agriculture and Agricultural Research, Animal Sciences, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany, Cytology, Ecology, Entomology, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.

BioOne

BioOne is an Internet-based collection of electronic journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Access is to citations only so requests assistance from the library for document delivery.

BNA Core Plus Collection

Connect

BNA’s Core Plus Collection provides links to publications with analysis in the following areas of law:

General Law United States Law Week
Bankruptcy Bankruptcy Law Reporter, Bankruptcy Law Resource Center
Business, Commerce, and Trade Antitrust and Trade Regulation Report, Electronic Commerce & Law Report, International Trade reporter – Current Reports, Securities Regulation and Law Report
Criminal Law Criminal Law Reporter, White Collar Crime Report
Environmental Law Environment Reporter – Current Reports
Family Law Family Law Reporter-Current Reports
Health Care Law Health Law Reporter
Intellectual Property Intellectual Property Law Resource Center, Patent, Trademark and Copyright Journal
Labor and Employment Law Employment Discrimination Report, Labor & Employment Law Resource Center, Labor Relations Week, Workplace Immigration Report, Workplace Law Report
Professional Responsibility ABA/BNA Lawyers’ Manual on Professional Conduct
Books & Authors

Books & Authors combines over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of related-titles, award winner and librarian recommendation lists and allows in-depth exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction.

Business Economics and Theory

This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.  Users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their business related research.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials includes all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface.  Includes up-to-date news, statistical data, and in-depth reports on companies and industries.

Business Source Complete

Connect

Includes more than 5,000 case studies, over a million company profiles, thousands of industry and market research reports, and thousands of SWOT analyses. Also includes full text articles from a multitude of peer reviewed journals and general business publications.

Cabell’s Directories

Connect

Provides an Education Directory that includes addresses, phone, e-mail, and websites for a large number of journals to help students and faculty publish their manuscripts.

CALI

Connect

CALI (Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) provides interactive lessons on legal topics that were created by members of a consortium of law schools that researches and develops computer-mediated legal instruction.  Password required for access.

Cambridge Books Online

Connect

Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from its world-renowned publishing program.  LMU subscribes to more than 900 titles in the law collection, with access to more than 10,000 additional titles in other disciplines across science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.  Purchased titles are identified with a green “P” icon.

Career Transitions

Career Transitions is an online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end, including the following steps: 1) exploring new career possibilities; 2) assessing interests and past experience; 3) identifying ways to improve prospects, including networking and education; 4) preparing for a job search; and 5) searching and applying for jobs.

Choice Reviews Online

Connect

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.

CINAHL with Full Text

Connect

CINAHL with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals and indexing for more than 3,000 journals. With full-text articles dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

ClasePeriodica

An index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Cochrane Library

Includes Cochrane systematic reviews, other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.

Communications and Mass Media Collection

The Communication and Mass Media Collection provides current information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field including: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and much more.

Computer Database

Connect

Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Computer-assisted Learning in Pediatrics Program (CLIPP)

Connect
Includes 32 required interactive virtual CLIPP patient cases for third-year medical students to use during their pediatric clerkship. Also includes 7 optional eCLIPPs cases. The cases are designed to cover all of the core content of the curriculum of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP).

CONSULTANT

CONSULTANT is a veterinary science diagnostic support system used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including: 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) the signs/symptoms associated with it, and 4) a list of recent literature references.

CountryWatch

Connect

CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Connect to CQ Press Political Reference Suite

The CQ Press Political Reference Suite contains the following publications from CQ Press: Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Document Series, Political Handbook of the World, The Supreme Court Compendium, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Voter Turnout in the United States 1788-2009, Congress A-Z, Elections A-Z, The Presidency A-Z, The Supreme Court A-Z, The U.S. Constitution A-Z.

CQ Researcher

Connect to CQ Press Political Reference Suite

CQ Researcher provides in-depth, single-themed, 12,000-word reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.  Each report contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.  CQ Researcher contains archives of all CQ Researcher reports from 1991, to present and all Editorial Research Reports from 1923 to 1991.

Criminal Justice Collection

Provides access to 150 professional and academic journals in the areas of law enforcement, legal and paralegal studies, and issues related to Homeland Security, and more.

Criminal Justice Periodicals

Connect

Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Culinary Arts Collection

The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines covering thousands of recipes, nutritional news and information, restaurant reviews, and industry news.

Declassified Documents Reference System

The Declassified Documents Reference System provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more. (Description is quoted from the TEL menu).

Digital Library of Appalachia

Connect

For students studying local and regional history, the Digital Library of Appalachia is an excellent resource. The DLA seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The over 1000 items in the database include reproductions of photographs, reformatted typed pages, published books, unpublished manuscripts, personal diaries and correspondence, journal and newspaper articles, musical recordings, oral history recordings and transcripts, and other related reproductions.

Diversity Studies Collection

The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community and includes more than 150 journals.

DynaMed

Connect

DynaMed includes information on drugs and conditions. It has clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics that are in an outline form that can be used efficiently in clinical settings. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. Through this process of systematic literature surveillance, the best available evidence determines the content of DynaMed. You can click on “recently updated” to see the entries that have been modified today and learn what was changed.
You may wish to click on “Weekly Update” periodically to read the latest update or sign up for the free weekly email. Prepared by the clinician members of the DynaMed Editorial Team, DynaMed Weekly Update is a compilation of blurbs about one to five articles selected from DynaMed’s Systematic Literature Surveillance as articles most likely to change clinical practice. This source will be helpful for finding articles for a journal club.
DynaMed provides free access for PDAs and mobile devices. Please email Lisa Travis at lisa.travis@lmunet.edu to request a serial number to download it to a mobile device for one year; you can renew your access after a year if you are a LMU student or LMU-DCOM alumnus.

Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment

Connect

Includes more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of early encounters between American Indians, Europeans, Africans, and Americans on the North American continent between 1534-1860. All materials include descriptions of North America, either its natural features or interactions among various cultural groups.

EBL (Ebook Library)

Connect

EBL offers content across all subject areas, offering more than 100,000 titles from hundreds of academic publishers. Patrons can browse all books and utilize full-text search within the browser. Titles can be accessed either online, through EBL’s PDF-based reader, or by downloading Adobe Acrobat ebooks to a PC, laptop, or PDA for offline use. EBL’s pay-per-use model provides a “just-in-time” solution for libraries and patrons and a possible alternative to interlibrary loan.

eBook Collection from EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)


The eBook Collection from EBSCOHost provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics including some books of historical information. Licensure review materials are included for COMLEX-USA and USMLE review. Click here to see eBook Collection instructions for downloading books.

eBooks

Connect

ABC-CLIO’s eBook Reader provides access to more than 6,200 law-related digital books. 

eBrary

Connect

eBrary provides access to thousands of books in a digital format.  With eBrary you create a custom bookshelf, open documents without downloading, and navigate to every occurance of your search term or through the contents linked from the table of contents.

ECO

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) collection of scholary journals.

Educator’s Reference Complete

Connect

Content is from over 400 full-text scholarly and academic journals, hundreds of reports, and a variety of reference sources and focuses on principles and practices in education, child development, educational psychology, and more.  The majority of the full-text titles included can also be found in the ERIC database.

Eighteenth Century Collection Online

Eighteenth Century Collection Online

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Connect

Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences includes 3,000 original peer-reviewed articles written by an international roster of 5,000 experts in their fields.

Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field. Colour illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. All articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature. Articles are divided into three different categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory, Advanced and Keynote. Introductory articles have been written primarily for undergraduate and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Advanced articlesprovide a more detailed discussion of specialist subjects, equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles provide a platform for debate where controversial issues and ‘hot topics’ can be discussed.

Subjects: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Functional and Comparative Morphology, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, Virology.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific reference titles include comprehensive coverage of environmental issues and policies, including multiple perspectives from the scientific community, government agencies, and corporations.

Epocrates Rx

One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes information on diseases, drugs, and drug interactions. Also includes helpful tables.

ERIC

Connect

ERIC is the premier database for education related journal articles and documents. Full-text access to many of the articles and documents is provided. If an item is not offered in full-text, check the library catalog for the journal title (not article title).

Evans Early American Imprints

Connect

Early American Imprints serves as a foundation set for research involving early American history, literature, philosophy, religion, and more. Contains more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images, Evans is a rich resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Connect

Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.

Facts on File World News Digest

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

Fastcase
Connect

Fastcase is a legal research system that offers comprehensive access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, regulations, court rules, and legal forms.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

The Fine Arts and Music Collection includes full text articles from more than 100 trade, professional and academic magazines and journals and includes support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gale Digital Libraries
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

This is a growing collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on important issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, including content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

Gender Studies Collection

This collection provides full text material from professional, trade, and academic magazines and journals, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

General Business File ASAP

Connect

Business & Company Resource Center brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, investment reports, industry overviews, and financial and trade association data.

General OneFile

Connect

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

General Reference Center Gold

Connect

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.

General Science Collection

Updated daily, the General Science Collection includes over a million full-text articles covering current information about scientific developments in numerous areas. More than 200 journals are covered, including:  American Scientist, BioScience, Geographical Review, Mineralogical Record, National Geographic , School Science and Mathematics,  and many more.

Google Scholar

Connect

Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search across many scholarly disciplines and sources:  articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publications, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

Government Publications Online (GPO)

U.S. Government Publications.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Health Reference Center—Academic

Connect

This database provides full-text access to respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Many images are also included.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition offers full-text access to over 80 consumer health periodicals. Also includes searchable full text for health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society. Also contains more than 9,900 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

The Nursing/Academic edition of Health Source provides full-text access to 542 periodicals. It also features citations and abstracts from 822 periodicals.

HeinOnline

Connect

HeinOnline provides online access to more than 40 million pages of historical legal periodical content and other library collections. The content is in the original page-image (PDF) format, ensuring the authenticity of the original hardcopy document in an online environment.

HeritageQuest

HeritageQuest Database allows users to search a variety of resources for genealogists. Users can search a variety of resources including census data, books, articles, Revolutionary War era pension and bounty-land warrant application files, and the Freeman’s Bank.

Historical Abstracts

Connect

Historical Abstracts™ with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, the history of education, and much more. It is appropriate for upper level undergraduate and graduate students.  This authoritative database provides citations to articles from more than 2,300 journals, as well as access to the full text of over 330 journals and 119 books.

HIT: Health Information Tennessee

Connect

The gateway for demographics, statistics, and information on health care in Tennessee.

Home Improvement Collection

This collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles covers such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and much more.

Hoover’s

Connect

Hoover’s Academic includes up-to-date company and industry coverage, well researched biographical information about company executives, documents, press releases, investment research, and stock information, plus more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

With up-to-date content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides comprehensive coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, including the cultural and economic aspects of tourism, among much more.

Humanities E-Book Project

Connect

The E-Book Project contains full-text access to 500 books of high quality in the field of history. These are works of major importance to historical studies—books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

Index to Legal Periodicals 1908 – Current

Connect

This database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.

Informe!

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Connect

This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.

Infotrac Small Business Collection

Connect

Appropriate for business schools, small businesses, and entrepreneurs, patrons will find full text articles from over 200 periodicals.  This collection is updated frequently and contained 3,578,324 articles as of August 4, 2009.

Infotrac Vocations, Careers & Technical Education Collection

Connect

This collection covers topics such as locating an appropriate institution of learning, the job hunt, and professional growth during your career. Full-text content is provided from a variety of resources ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Insurance and Liability Collection

This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.

Issues & Controversies

Connect

Issues & Controversies is the authoritative online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

Junior Editions (5-8 grade)

A specialized database containing full text documents from magazines, newspapers, and reference books that are appropriate for junior high and middle school students.

Kids InfoBits (K-5 grade)

For Kindergarten through Grade 5, InfoBits features a visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Connect

Searchable full-text of the 4th edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, which provides information of the chemical industry and allied fields.

Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.Key features include over 1,000 articles, with more than 600 new or updated — over 10% of the content is updated annually and monthly updates that keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.

Learning Express Library

Connect

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.

LexisNexis

Connect

LexisNexis is a legal research and analysis database that provides full-text access to caselaw, statutes, regulations, rules, court documents, and secondary sources.  LexisNexis ID required for access.

Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection

The Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection is one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of Lincoln artifacts. This database includes three-dimensional artifacts as well as books, pamphlets, photographs, clothing, political objects, fine art, and manuscripts and documents. Other features of the website in addition to the searchable database include virtual exhibits, announcements of upcoming Lincoln-related events, the Lincoln Timeline, an Ask an Expert page, etc.

Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress

The complete Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 20,000 documents. The collection is organized into three “General Correspondence” series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material. Most of the 20,000 items are from the 1850s through Lincoln’s presidential years, 1860-65.

LION: Literature Online

Connect

This database is an excellent source of in-depth information for the English major, from author biographies to criticisms to bibliographies for further research. Students are encouraged to test out the many different search techniques offered. A fully searchable library of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources (literary criticisms).

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Literature Resource Center

Connect

The Literature Resource Center is a literature reference database that contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical content for more than 120,000 authors and their works. This database also contains full-text articles from several prominent literature criticism journals.

Loislaw

Connect

Loislaw is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, and affordable online legal research service. From its beginning in the late 1980s, Loislaw has pioneered new products and new technology for the digital legal information market.  LMU subscribes to libraries in Business Practice Law, Construction Law, Drunk Driving Defense, Elder Law, Employment Discrimination Law, Employment Law, Estate Planning, Evidence, Family Law, General Litigation, Internet and E-commerce, Limited Liability Company, Personal Injury Law, Product Liability Law, and Real Estate Law.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises: 1800-1926

“The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926″ provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources

The term   “primary sources” is used not in the historian’s sense of a manuscript, letter, or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute, or regulation. Designed to complement The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, this archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.

Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926

Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.

Making of the Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text coverage includes millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) and includes content relevant to subjects such as history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

Mango

Connect

Content covers 34 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, among many others, as well as a wide variety of English as a second language (ESL) content.  Most languages include both basic and advanced levels of learning. Mango allows students to hear pronunciation by native speakers and provides students practice with conversational phrases and dialogues. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.

MEDLINE

Includes 21 million citations, including limited full-text articles. This version of MEDLINE is only accessible while one is affiliated with LMU, so, unless you are familiar with the FirstSearch interface, librarians recommend that you use PubMed, the freely-available version of MEDLINE that can be used by anyone anywhere.

Medscape Reference (formerly eMedicine)

Connect

One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes over 6,300 evidence-based and physician-reviewed articles on diseases and conditions. Also includes over 2,100 drug monographs, more than 650 clinical procedures articles, and 70 anatomy articles.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

Merck Veterinary Manual

The Merck Veterinary Manual is a comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information. MERCK Includes over 12,000 indexed topics and over 1200 illustrations and can be searched by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword.

Micromedex

Connect

Micromedex is a comprehensive medical reference on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicine, and patient education and care. It includes information on drug interactions, IV compatibility, and drug comparisons. Also includes a drug identification tool, calculators, and formularies. Disclaimer: According to license restrictions, this resource can only be used for educational and training purposes by Lincoln Memorial University students and faculty in the health sciences and is not to be used for any clinical care, emergency, or commercial purpose. Do not access this resource from a clinical setting.

Military & Intelligence Database

Connect

Large collection of material selected to meet Military and Intelligence content needs. Includes basic reference material like the Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia and the World Almanac and Book of Facts, as well as full text access to over 500 related periodicals.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

Connect

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography

Connect

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Connect

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) “is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. The NCJRS sponsoring agencies publish hundreds of reports and other information products each year. Most of the titles are available online through the NCJRS Web site. NCJRS hosts one of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. The collection, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, contains more than 190,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.”

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America’s top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Note: This is not a full-text database.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides evidence-based information on natural and alternative medicines and therapies. The following information is provided for each natural medicine ingredient: full monograph, safety, effectiveness, adverse reactions, dosage/administration, mechanisms of action, interactions with drugs, interactions with herbs, interactions with food, interactions with lab tests, interactions with diseases, also known as, people use this for, editor’s comments, references, patient handout (English), and patient handout (Spanish). Users may also click a link to be shown all products that contain the ingredient. The database also includes the Clinical Management Series with CE/CME entries and quizzes on complementary therapies for common conditions.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos is the World’s largest Classical music listening service designed for students, instructors and patrons of public and academic libraries.  The collection houses over 319,000 tracks.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Connect

“The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. The NDLTD assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide.”

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

Newstand

Newsstand allows users to search full-text news articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or subject. Includes more than 1,000 newspapers, including national U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, U.S. Newswire,  and the Economist, as well as a multitude of international newspapers from countries such Armenia, Bangladesh, Canada, Jordan, and Pakistan, among many others.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Includes 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 2) British Politics and Society; 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and 4) the Corvey Collection of European Literature: 1790-1840.

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

Connect

The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women’s diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection’s current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.  (Description is quoted from the TEL main menu).

OCLC Ebooks

Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Connect

A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context includes topic overviews and  frequently updated viewpoint articles addressing multiple sides of  current and controversial topics, as well as the full text of a multitude of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles.   Also includes links to statistics, images, videos, and links to authoritative web-sites.

Oral History Online

Connect

Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 1,800 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 75,000 pages of full-text by some 2,500 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 500 audio and video files and nearly 7,900 bibliographic records.

OSTMED.DR

Connect

This digital library of osteopathic literature builds on OSTMED, which was a bibliographic index of osteopathic literature. Most items are available in full text.

Oxford Art Online

Connect

Oxford Art Online (previously known as the Grove Art Library) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text. It encompasses Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Ceramics, Textiles, Jewelry, Interior Design, Furniture, Glass and Metalwork. It also includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and more.

Oxford Music Online

Connect

Oxford Music Online (previously known as Grove Music Library) is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). It also includes two classic Oxford music reference titles, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Oxford Reference Online

Connect

This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.

PAEasy

PAEasy
This product includes 1,201 review questions for the Physician Assistance National Certifying Exam (PANCE) and the Physician Assistant National Recertifying Exam (PANRE). To view personal progress reports and construct exams out of previously unseen or incorrectly answered questions, one must freely register and create an account within the system and then log in with those credentials. When taking an exam, you can choose a mode (practice, exam, or a PANCE/PANRE simulation); may specify how many questions you want and what type of question (new/unanswered only, previously incorrectly answered only, or all questions). You may also choose task area(s) and/or organ system(s).

PapersFirst

Online Computer Library Center index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Polling the Nations

Connect

Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

Pop Culture Collection

This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Procedures Consult – Internal Medicine Modules

Connect

This subscription provides access to 46 internal medicine procedures with videos and tests. Users can choose to view a quick review or full details for each procedure. Procedures include defibrillation, general splinting techniques, local anesthesia, lumbar puncture, nasogastric intubation, and much more.

Proceedings

An Online Computer Library Center index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Professional Collection

Connect

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full text journals for educators.

ProQuest Congressional

Connect

ProQuest® Congressional is the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research.  With the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, the Congressional Research Digital Collection, the Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, or the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, the full text of publications dating back in some cases as far as the late eighteenth century in searchable PDF format.  The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.

ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Full Text: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection

Connect

A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, this database covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

ProQuest Education Journals

Connect

This database contains more than 400 leading journals in the field. Many are available in full text.

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Connect

Provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties back to 1986. Indexes over 1,950 publications and provides the full-text for over 1,660 publications. This database is useful to the athletic training, nursing, osteopathic medicine, and psychology programs.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Connect

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering topics in emotion and behavior, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methodology, and more.  This collection includes full text articles from over 500 peer reviewed journals.

Psychology Collection

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops — and diminishes — over time. Students will have access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

PsycINFO

Connect

This database contains more than three million citations and summaries dating back to the 1600s for some materials and to the 1800s for journals. Includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines. Some of the journal articles are offered in full text. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

PubMed

Connect

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also provides access to 70 leading veterinary journals. To limit your search to veterinary science, simply select “animal” in “Limits.” To limit your search to nursing journals, simply select “Nursing journals” as a “Subset” in “Limits.”

Regional Business News

Connect

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Religion and Philosophy Database

Connect

Features articles from more than 250 magazines and Journals on religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology, and covers the impact of religion on culture. Many articles are full-text.

Research Starters – Business

Research Starters – Business provides students with comprehensive background/overview information on many topics, written by experts in the field. Categories include topics in accounting, actuarial science, public policy, business information systems, business law, health care management, insurance and risk management, operations and information systems, and statistics, among others.

Research Starters – Education

Research Starters – Education provides students with comprehensive background/overview information on many topics, written by experts in the field. Topics include early childhood education, adult education, education and the law, school administration and policy, testing and evaluation, English as a Second Language, guidance and counseling, Higher Education, and international perspectives, among many more.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Connect

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing appropriate for college students at all levels.  RILM’s coverage includes citations and abstracts from nearly 12,000 journals, dating from 1967 to the present.  Other types of publications and media covered by RILM include collections of essays, conference proceedings, digital media, dissertations, books, reviews, and technical drawings of instruments.

Science Database

Connect

Science Full Text Select

Science Full Text Select is a 100% full-text database providing full-text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from a core selection of science periodicals in the following periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index; and General Science Full Text. Additional relevant journals selected from other Wilson periodical databases are also included. Full text coverage begins in 1994 or later depending on rights for a particular journal.

ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition

This database includes over 1,000 full-text journals that are useful to biology, nursing, osteopathic medicine, psychology, veterinary technology, and other programs of study. Full-text content dates back to 1995.

SciFinder Scholar

Connect

LMU faculty, students, and staff may access SciFinder Scholar both on and off campus.  If you have not used SciFinder previously, you must register with SciFinder and create a username and password.

You can register using the link below; please use your LMU email address when registering.  You will first be prompted to enter your LMU username and password; then you will be taken to the registration screen.

SciFinder Registration

If you need assistance in registering, please call the library’s reference desk at 423-869-7079.

After you register you will receive a confirmation email from SciFinder.  After you confirm your registration you may access the SciFinder subscription by clicking here or on the Connect button above.  You will first be prompted to enter your LMU username and password; then you will be prompted to enter the username and password you created for SciFinder.

Scribner Writers Series

Connect

Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.

Small Business Resource Center

Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Connect

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.

Southern Life

Connect

Contains nearly 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Connect

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, nearly 250 have cover-to-cover indexing in SPORTDiscus. With more than 700,000 full-text articles dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.

SpringerLink

Connect

Access the fulltext of more than 231,257 ejournals and ebooks within the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Law collection.

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage

Connect

NetAdvantage provides full-text access to the complete S&P Industry Surveys, as well as millions of individual entries on global corporations, industry outlooks, stocks, and mutual fund investing. A good source for statistical data and researching a wide variety of business topics.

STAT!Ref Medical and Nursing

Connect

This platform allows one to see all of the books in STAT!Ref Medical (20 books) and STAT!Ref Nursing (14 books), and the collection unique to LMU (2 books). Includes an evidence-based resource from the American College of Physicians (ACP PIER). Also includes ACP Medicine and Rook’s Textbook of Dermatology and provides coverage of pediatric nursing, natural products, culturally competent care, diagnostic tests and procedures, and more. In ‘Basic’ searches, you can retrieve links to specific chapters in each book title or you can conduct a keyword search of one or more specific books with ‘Advanced’ searches. Clicking on a selection shows detailed information in full-text format complete with tables and graphics. In addition to the books, STAT!Ref also includes databases such as MedCalc3000, Point-of-care tools, and learning resources. STAT!Ref titles are also found in the Piper Catalog. There is a limit of 7 concurrent users at any given time.

Statesman’s Yearbook Online

Connect

SYBWorld provides current information on global affairs, with coverage of government, politics, geography, history, economics, and social policy for 192 nations.The country profiles cover the following areas: Political parties and leaders; Population; Economics; Climate; Natural resources; Military capabilities; Education and Legal Systems; Cultural and Communications; Health and Environment; International Affairs.

Statistical DataSets

Connect

Statistical DataSets is a web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to more than 15 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets.

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary

STAT!Ref Medical link (See below)

 

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary Special Instructions

1. Click on the STAT!Ref Medical link.

2. Click on the Resources tab at the top of the screen.

3. Click on Stedman’s Medical Dictionary.

Student Edition (9-12 grade)

A specialized database containing full text documents from magazines, newspapers, and reference books that are appropriate for junior high and middle school students.

Student Resources in Context

Student Resources in Context encompasses a multitude of content, including:  thousands of articles from standard reference sources; millions of newspaper and journal articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many other academic, professional, and news publications ; thousands of primary sources;  and video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.

Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA)

Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) is a program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. The mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.

Tennessee’s Landmark Documents

From King George’s Proclamation of 1763 to the earliest purchase of land from Native Americans to the first Constitutions of the State of Tennessee, these are among the most important records from our past. Significant milestones in the formation and early history of the state are presented here for the first time in digital form taken directly from the originals, with full transcription and accompanying historical text. These Landmark Documents are available for citizens and students to search, study, and download.

The series will continue with future installments of Tennessee’s recorded heritage from the 1830s to the Civil War and beyond.

Tests in Print

Connect

The Library of Congress National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

Thieme ElectronicBook Library

Connect

The Thieme ElectronicBook Library includes sixty-nine electronic books. Strengths include radiology, anatomy, microbiology, genetics, neurology, biochemistry, and opthalmology.

Today’s Science

Includes curriculum tools for students and teachers such as information about understanding science standards and  guides for science fair experiments.  Also includes a science encyclopedia as well as biographies and conversations with scientists, an image gallery, and in depth reference articles covering a multitude of current and controversial topics related to science.

Twayne Authors Series – Twayne World, English, and US Authors

Connect

Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.

U.S. History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978

Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Connect

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription

UMI ETD Administrator

Connect

The UMI ETD Administrator system helps manage the electronic submission of dissertations and theses that the university plans to publish with ProQuest/UMI. It offers a simplified submission process for students and graduate administrators alike by moving all steps online. Doctoral students should utilize this system to upload their completed and approved dissertations.

UpToDate

connect

This is a resource with original, peer-reviewed entries for 20 medical specialties to allow practitioners to keep current with new clinical developments, be more confident in diagnosis and treatment decisions, and answer clinical questions more efficiently. It offers information in the specialties of adult and pediatric emergency medicine; adult primary care and internal medicine; allergy and immunology; cardiovascular medicine; dermatology; endocrinology and diabetes; family medicine; gastroenterology and hepatology; geriatrics; hematology; hospital medicine; infectious diseases; nephrology and hypertension; obstetrics, gynecology, and women’s health; oncology; pediatrics; psychiatry; pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine; rheumatology; and surgery. Information in UpToDate on drugs and drug interactions is provided by Lexi-Comp.

VisualDx

VisualDx

Connect

VisualDx includes an interactive tool for finding differential diagnoses based on visual findings. Includes information on conditions with visual findings. Also includes components for international travel, child abuse recognition, terrorism recognition, oral mucosa, drug eruptions, external eye visual findings, fever and rash, smallpox vaccination, CA-MRSA, pressure ulcer staging, marine exposures, cellulitis differential diagnosis, female anogenital visual findings, male anogenital visual findings, immunocompromised conditions, nail and distal digit visual finding; and bites, stings, and infestations.

Volunteer Voices

Volunteer Voices Tennessee’s first statewide digital collection. Volunteer Voices began as an idea within Tenn-Share, a resource sharing consortium, to build a statewide network of primary resources that would be accessible to all.

Volunteer Voices is Tennessee’s statewide digitization program involving the state’s archives, libraries, repositories, historic homes and museums. Its goals are to develop digital collections that document Tennessee’s history and culture; facilitate use of these collections in K-16 classrooms and by the general public; and offer training opportunities for personnel to learn digitization standards and best practices. In 2003, the University of Tennessee submitted a proposal to the Institute of Museum and Library Services on behalf of ten partner institutions, Tenn-Share, and the citizens of Tennessee to create a mulit-institution, multi-type digital collection to increase access to the rich materials held in Tennessee’s archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions.

War and Terrorism Collection

Professional, academic, and trade titles appropriate for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and the social sciences.

Westlaw

Connect

Westlaw is a legal research and analysis database that provides full-text access to caselaw, statutes, regulations, rules, court documents, and secondary sources that include West Headnotes and the West Key Numbering system.  Westlaw ID required for access.

WISE-MD (Web Initiative for Surgical Education)

You must register using your LMU email address and create a password. You must verify your email address by clicking on a link in an email you will receive upon registering. The login for CLIPP also works for Web Initiative for Surgical Education (WISE-MD). Includes 18 interactive modules for third-year medical students to use during their surgery clerkship. More modules are planned. Current modules cover abdominal aortic aneurysms, adrenal adenoma, anorectal disease, appendicitis, bariatric surgery and obesity, bowel obstruction, breast cancer surgery, burn management (in preview), carotid stenosis, cholecystitis, colon cancer, diverticulitis, hernia, hypercalcemia, pediatric surgery: hernia & hydrocele, skin cancer, thyroid nodule, and trauma resuscitation. WISE-MD was jointly developed by the Department of Surgery and the Division of Educational Informatics at NYU in furtherance of this mission with the support of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the Association for Surgical Education (ASE).

Women Working, 1879-1930

Connect

In addition to digitized books, pamphlets and images, Women Working includes selections from Harvard University’s Louise Bosworth Collection. A prominent researcher, Bosworth’s work focused on surveys of the income and expenses of Boston’s working women, and her personal records provide insight into what was at the turn of the century a new type of professional woman.

World History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

WorldCat

Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

 
 
^ Scroll to Top ^