Appalachian Development Studies

Toggle Subjects

Appalachian Development Studies-specific

America: History and Life

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

Connect

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

connect

WilsonWeb’s Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a bibliographic database that indexes English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. The database includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.

Coverage dates:Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1994+ .Biological & Agricultural Index Plus offers researchers convenient online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture—much of it from peer-reviewed journals—plus full text. Full text citations also link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research.

Subjects: Agricultural Chemicals, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Engineering, Agriculture and Agricultural Research, Animal Sciences, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany, Cytology, Ecology, Entomology, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.

Digital Library of Appalachia

Connect

For students studying local and regional history, the Digital Library of Appalachia is an excellent resource. The DLA seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The over 1000 items in the database include reproductions of photographs, reformatted typed pages, published books, unpublished manuscripts, personal diaries and correspondence, journal and newspaper articles, musical recordings, oral history recordings and transcripts, and other related reproductions.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

Connect

Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences includes 3,000 original peer-reviewed articles written by an international roster of 5,000 experts in their fields.

Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field. Colour illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. All articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature. Articles are divided into three different categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory, Advanced and Keynote. Introductory articles have been written primarily for undergraduate and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Advanced articlesprovide a more detailed discussion of specialist subjects, equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles provide a platform for debate where controversial issues and ‘hot topics’ can be discussed.

Subjects: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Functional and Comparative Morphology, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, Virology.

General Business File ASAP & International

Connect

Business & Company Resource Center brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, investment reports, industry overviews, and financial and trade association data.

History Resource Center: U.S.

Connect

The History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information’s Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Humanities E-Book Project

Connect

The E-Book Project contains full-text access to 500 books of high quality in the field of history. These are works of major importance to historical studies—books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

LION: Literature Online

Connect

This database is an excellent source of in-depth information for the English major, from author biographies to criticisms to bibliographies for further research. Students are encouraged to test out the many different search techniques offered. A fully searchable library of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources (literary criticisms).

Literature Resource Center

Connect

The Literature Resource Center is a literature reference database that contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical content for more than 120,000 authors and their works. This database also contains full-text articles from several prominent literature criticism journals.

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

Connect

The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women’s diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.

Oral History Online

Connect

Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 1,800 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 75,000 pages of full-text by some 2,500 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 500 audio and video files and nearly 7,900 bibliographic records.

Oxford Art Online

Connect

Oxford Art Online (previously known as the Grove Art Library) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text. It encompasses Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Ceramics, Textiles, Jewelry, Interior Design, Furniture, Glass and Metalwork. It also includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and more.

Oxford Music Online

Connect

Oxford Music Online (previously known as Grove Music Library) is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). It also includes two classic Oxford music reference titles, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Regional Business News

Connect

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Religion and Philosophy Database

Connect

Features articles from more than 250 magazines and Journals on religion, philosophy, archaeology, and anthropology, and covers the impact of religion on culture. Many articles are full-text.

Science Full Text Select

Connect

Science Full Text Select is a 100% full-text database providing full-text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from a core selection of science periodicals in the following periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index; and General Science Full Text. Additional relevant journals selected from other Wilson periodical databases are also included. Full text coverage begins in 1994 or later depending on rights for a particular journal.

Scribner Writers Series

Connect

Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Connect

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.

Southern Life

Connect

Contains nearly 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical events and more.

Standard & Poors NetAdvantage

Connect

NetAdvantage provides full-text access to the complete S&P Industry Surveys, as well as millions of individual entries on global corporations, industry outlooks, stocks, and mutual fund investing. A good source for statistical data and researching a wide variety of business topics.

Statesman’s Yearbook Online

Connect

SYBWorld provides current information on global affairs, with coverage of government, politics, geography, history, economics, and social policy for 192 nations.The country profiles cover the following areas: Political parties and leaders; Population; Economics; Climate; Natural resources; Military capabilities; Education and Legal Systems; Cultural and Communications; Health and Environment; International Affairs.

Today’s Science

Connect

Twayne Authors Series – Twayne World, English, and US Authors

Connect

Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier

Connect

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

ArticleFirst

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

ECO

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) collection of scholary journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Connect

Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.

General OneFile

Connect

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Government Publications Online (GPO)

U.S. Government Publications.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

NetLibrary

NetLibrary provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.

 

OCLC Ebooks

Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

PapersFirst

Online Computer Library Center index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Proceedings

An Online Computer Library Center index of worldwide conference proceedings.

WorldCat

Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

Reference Tools

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

Choice Reviews Online

Connect

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.

CountryWatch

Connect

CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.

Facts on File World News Digest

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

Facts.com: World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, etc.

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Today’s Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General Reference Center Gold

Connect

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Connect

This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.

Learning Express Library

Connect

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

MLA International Bibliography

Connect

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Connect

A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.

Oxford Reference Online

Connect

This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Polling the Nations

Connect

Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Connect

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription

What Do I Read Next?

Connect

What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, and series. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

World Almanac Encyclopedia

Connect

Contains the full text of more than 22,000 articles in Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

World Almanac Reference Database

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

WorldAlmanac

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four additional almanacs.



 
 
^ Scroll to Top