Athletic Training
Athletic Training-specific
American Botanic Council includes informative articles, reviews, monographs, a magazine, and a newsletter on herbs. HerbalGram Online allows one to access the archives back to 1990 of the peer-reviewed journal of the American Botanical Council. HerbClip Online provides summaries and critical reviews of seminal articles on herbal medicine from popular and scientific literature around the world. Healthy Ingredients provides consumer information for herbs used in cosmetics, aromatherapy, and dietary supplements. Commission E Monographs includes 380 monographs of the Complete German Commission E Monographs, which has approved uses, dosage, contraindications, side effects, drug interactions, and other therapeutic information. Expanded Commission E Monographs updates and expands 107 of the Commission E Monographs. HerbMedPro allows one to access the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health; a simple search by common or Latin herb name lists results by evidence of efficacy, warnings, methods of preparation, formulas/blends, and activity as well as short summaries of clinical studies that permit users to make easy selections.
Includes physical examination videos of systems, body regions, and patients by age. Unlike other databases, your user name is your full email address.
Includes Cochrane systematic reviews, other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.
One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes 6,500 articles written by 10,000 physician contributors in numerous specialties.
Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences includes 3,000 original peer-reviewed articles written by an international roster of 5,000 experts in their fields.
Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field. Colour illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. All articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature. Articles are divided into three different categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory, Advanced and Keynote. Introductory articles have been written primarily for undergraduate and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Advanced articlesprovide a more detailed discussion of specialist subjects, equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles provide a platform for debate where controversial issues and ‘hot topics’ can be discussed.
Subjects: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Functional and Comparative Morphology, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, Virology.
One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes information on diseases, drugs, and drug interactions. Also includes helpful tables.
This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.
Health Source: Consumer Edition offers full-text access to over 300 consumer health periodicals as well as abstracts (summaries) for another 300 periodicals. Also included is full-text access for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets and 147 health reference books.

The Nursing/Academic edition of Health Source provides full-text access to nearly 550 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features citations and abstracts (summaries) for nearly 850 journals.
Micromedex is a comprehensive medical reference on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicine, and patient education and care. It includes information on drug interactions, IV compatibility, and drug comparisons. Also includes a drug identification tool, calculators, and formularies. Disclaimer: According to license restrictions, this resource can only be used for educational and training purposes by Lincoln Memorial University students and faculty in the health sciences and is not to be used for any clinical care, emergency, or commercial purpose. Do not access this resource from a clinical setting.
Provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties. Indexes over 1,530 publications and provides the full-text for over 1,270 publications. This database is useful to the athletic training, nursing, osteopathic medicine, and psychology programs.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also provides access to 70 leading veterinary journals. To limit your search to veterinary science, simply select “animal” in “Limits.” To limit your search to nursing journals, simply select “Nursing journals” as a “Subset” in “Limits.”
Science Full Text Select is a 100% full-text database providing full-text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from a core selection of science periodicals in the following periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index; and General Science Full Text. Additional relevant journals selected from other Wilson periodical databases are also included. Full text coverage begins in 1994 or later depending on rights for a particular journal.
This database includes over 1,000 full-text journals that are useful to biology, nursing, osteopathic medicine, psychology, veterinary technology, and other programs of study. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
This is an evidence-based resource with over 80,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text. It offers comprehensive information for clinicians and patients in the following areas: adult and pediatric emergency medicine, adult primary care and internal medicine, allergy and immunology, cardiovascular medicine, drug information and interactions, endocrinology and diabetes, family medicine, gastroenterology and hepatology, hematology, infectious diseases, nephrology and hypertension, neurology; obstetrics, gynecology, and women’s health; oncology, pediatrics; pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine; and rheumatology. Surgery content is currently being added. Information in UpToDate on drugs and drug interactions is provided by Lexi-Comp.
Multidisciplinary
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.
Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
NetLibrary provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Reference Tools
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.
CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Today’s Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.
This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.
This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.
Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.
Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.
This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.
Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription
What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, and series. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

