Communication Arts
Communication Arts-specific
The Communication and Mass Media Collection provides current information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field including: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and much more.
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.
For students studying local and regional history, the Digital Library of Appalachia is an excellent resource. The DLA seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The over 1000 items in the database include reproductions of photographs, reformatted typed pages, published books, unpublished manuscripts, personal diaries and correspondence, journal and newspaper articles, musical recordings, oral history recordings and transcripts, and other related reproductions.
The Fine Arts and Music Collection includes full text articles from more than 100 trade, professional and academic magazines and journals and includes support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
This database is an excellent source of in-depth information for the English major, from author biographies to criticisms to bibliographies for further research. Students are encouraged to test out the many different search techniques offered. A fully searchable library of more than 330,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources (literary criticisms).
The Literature Resource Center is a literature reference database that contains biographical, bibliographical, and critical content for more than 120,000 authors and their works. This database also contains full-text articles from several prominent literature criticism journals.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Naxos is the World’s largest Classical music listening service designed for students, instructors and patrons of public and academic libraries. The collection houses over 319,000 tracks.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Oxford Art Online (previously known as the Grove Art Library) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) with constant additions of new material and updates to the text. It encompasses Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Ceramics, Textiles, Jewelry, Interior Design, Furniture, Glass and Metalwork. It also includes the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and more.
Oxford Music Online (previously known as Grove Music Library) is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition). It also includes two classic Oxford music reference titles, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.
This database contains more than three million citations and summaries dating back to the 1600s for some materials and to the 1800s for journals. Includes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines. Some of the journal articles are offered in full text. Includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series.
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 “core” coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 “priority” coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Multidisciplinary
Includes millions of articles from peer-reviewed journals and reference resources from 1980 to the present, and the full text of the New York Times from 1995 to the present. Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, religion, and the arts and humanities.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including content from American National Biography, Biography’s Complete Collection, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, Columbia University Press Biographies, Congressional Biographies, Salem Press biographies, and much more.
Career Transitions is an online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end, including the following steps: 1) exploring new career possibilities; 2) assessing interests and past experience; 3) identifying ways to improve prospects, including networking and education; 4) preparing for a job search; and 5) searching and applying for jobs.
The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines covering thousands of recipes, nutritional news and information, restaurant reviews, and industry news.
The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community and includes more than 150 journals.
The eBook Collection from EBSCOHost provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics including some books of historical information. Licensure review materials are included for COMLEX-USA and USMLE review. Click here to see eBook Collection instructions for downloading books.
Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
The Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection is one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of Lincoln artifacts. This database includes three-dimensional artifacts as well as books, pamphlets, photographs, clothing, political objects, fine art, and manuscripts and documents. Other features of the website in addition to the searchable database include virtual exhibits, announcements of upcoming Lincoln-related events, the Lincoln Timeline, an Ask an Expert page, etc.
Content covers 34 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, among many others, as well as a wide variety of English as a second language (ESL) content. Most languages include both basic and advanced levels of learning. Mango allows students to hear pronunciation by native speakers and provides students practice with conversational phrases and dialogues. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.
“The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. The NDLTD assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide.”
Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context includes topic overviews and frequently updated viewpoint articles addressing multiple sides of current and controversial topics, as well as the full text of a multitude of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles. Also includes links to statistics, images, videos, and links to authoritative web-sites.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Student Resources in Context encompasses a multitude of content, including: thousands of articles from standard reference sources; millions of newspaper and journal articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many other academic, professional, and news publications ; thousands of primary sources; and video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.
Reference Tools
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.
CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.
This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.
This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.
Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.
Content covers 34 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, among many others, as well as a wide variety of English as a second language (ESL) content. Most languages include both basic and advanced levels of learning. Mango allows students to hear pronunciation by native speakers and provides students practice with conversational phrases and dialogues. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.
Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.
This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

