DCOM

Toggle Subjects

DCOM-specific

American Botanical Council

Connect

American Botanic Council includes informative articles, reviews, monographs, a magazine, and a newsletter on herbs. HerbalGram Online allows one to access the archives back to 1990 of the peer-reviewed journal of the American Botanical Council. HerbClip Online provides summaries and critical reviews of seminal articles on herbal medicine from popular and scientific literature around the world. Healthy Ingredients provides consumer information for herbs used in cosmetics, aromatherapy, and dietary supplements. Commission E Monographs includes 380 monographs of the Complete German Commission E Monographs, which has approved uses, dosage, contraindications, side effects, drug interactions, and other therapeutic information. Expanded Commission E Monographs updates and expands 107 of the Commission E Monographs. HerbMedPro allows one to access the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health; a simple search by common or Latin herb name lists results by evidence of efficacy, warnings, methods of preparation, formulas/blends, and activity as well as short summaries of clinical studies that permit users to make easy selections.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 37 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews saves you time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field.

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Includes physical examination videos of systems, body regions, and patients by age.

CLIPP

Includes 31 interactive virtual patient cases for third-year medical students to use during their pediatric clerkship. The cases are designed to cover all of the core content of the curriculum of the Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP).

Cochrane Library

Includes Cochrane systematic reviews, other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials.

eMedicine

One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes 6,500 articles written by 10,000 physician contributors in numerous specialties.

Epocrates Online

One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes information on diseases, drugs, and drug interactions. Also includes a pill identifier and helpful tables.

HIT: Health Information Tennessee

Connect

The gateway for demographics, statistics, and information on health care in Tennessee.

Lexi-Comp ONLINE


Lexi-Comp ONLINE includes non-biased information on drugs and natural products as well as medical calculations, a drug ID component, an interactions component, I.V. compatibility information, FDA special alerts, updates on medical safety issues, and more.

Medical Evidence Matters

Connect

Medical Evidence Matters is an evidence-based medicine search tool that draws information from hundreds of peer-reviewed journals to help users choose the best therapy options for patients with a confirmed diagnosis. It can help users quickly find and analyze highly relevant, published, and peer-reviewed evidence to answer individual patient-oriented questions. Results are organized into summary graphs and tables – enabling users to assess the evidence and determine the best form of treatment.

MEDLINE

Includes 19 million citations dating back to 1948, including limited full text articles.  This version of MEDLINE is only accessible while one is affiliated with LMU, so, unless you are familiar with the FirstSearch interface, librarians recommend that you use PubMed, the freely-available version of MEDLINE that can be used by anyone anywhere.

Micromedex

Connect

Micromedex is a comprehensive medical reference on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicine, and patient education and care. Disclaimer: According to license restrictions, this resource can only be used for educational and training purposes by Lincoln Memorial University students and faculty in the health sciences and is not to be used for any clinical care, emergency, or commercial purpose. Do not access this resource from a clinical setting.

OSTMED.DR

Connect

This digital library of full-text osteopathic literature builds on OSTMED, which was a collection of bibliographic index of osteopathic literature.

Primal Anatomy

Includes interactive modules with text for the head and neck, axilla, spine, thorax & abdomen, knee, hip, hand, pelvis & perineum, and foot. Also includes a study guide and test bank. Also includes essential regional anatomy, acupuncture anatomy, and pilates anatomy. Also includes surgery videos and animations for the axilla, knee, knee arthroplasty, hip arthroplasty, and podiatric medicine.

Procedures Consult – Internal Medicine Modules

This subscription provides access to 42 internal medicine procedures with videos and tests. Users can choose to view a quick review or full details for each procedure. Procedures include defibrillation, general splinting techniques, local anesthesia, lumbar puncture, nasogastric intubation, and much more.

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete

Connect

Provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties. Indexes over 1,530 publications and provides the full-text for over 1,270 publications. This database is useful to the athletic training, nursing, osteopathic medicine, and psychology programs.

PubMed

Connect

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1948. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also provides access to 70 leading veterinary journals. To limit your search to veterinary science, simply select “animal” in “Limits.” To limit your search to nursing journals, simply select “Nursing journals” as a “Subset” in “Limits.”

ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition

This database includes over 1,000 full-text journals that are useful to biology, nursing, osteopathic medicine, psychology, veterinary technology, and other programs of study. Full-text content dates back to 1995.

STAT!Ref Medical

Connect

STAT!Ref Medical provides access to 35 electronic medical books, including textbooks for the LMU-DCOM and PA programs. Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, several Lange books, ACP Medicine, and Review of Medical Physiology by Ganong. Includes several books that contain detailed drug information.

Thieme ElectronicBook Library

Connect

The Thieme ElectronicBook Library includes thirty-nine electronic books. Strengths include radiology, anatomy, microbiology, genetics, neurology, biochemistry, and opthalmology.

UpToDate

connect

This is an evidence-based resource with over 70,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text to allow practitioners to keep current with new clinical developments, be more confident in diagnosis and treatment decisions and answer clinical questions more efficiently. It offers comprehensive information in the specialties of adult primary care and internal medicine, cardiovascular medicine, critical care, endocrinology and diabetes, family medicine, gastroenterology and hepatology, gynecology, hematology, infectious diseases, nephrology and hypertension, obstetrics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, rheumatology, sleep medicine and women’s health.

Web Initiative for Surgical Education (WISE-MD)

You must register using your LMU email address and create a password. You must verify your email address by clicking on a link in an email you will receive upon registering. The login for CLIPP also works for Web Initiative for Surgical Education (WISE-MD). Includes 10 interactive modules for third-year medical students to use during their surgery clerkship. More modules are planned. Current modules cover abdominal aortic aneurysms, adrenal adenoma, anorectal disease, appendicitis, carotid stenosis, cholecystitis, colon cancer, hernia, skin cancer, and trauma resuscitation. WISE-MD was jointly developed by the Department of Surgery and the Division of Educational Informatics at NYU in furtherance of this mission with the support of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the Association for Surgical Education (ASE).

DCOM Electronic Books

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews

Annual reviews for genetics, nutrition, public health, medicine, cell and developmental biology, microbiology, and much more

Bookshelf

Bookshelf

Searchable electronic books on a variety of medical topics

Early American Manual Therapy

Early American Manual Therapy

Numerous full-text books from the late 1800s and early 1900s related to osteopathy

FreeBooks4Doctors!

FreeBooks4Doctors!

630 books freely available online – can search by specialty and title

MSU Osteopathy Digital Collection

Early osteopathy textbooks, collections of articles, and an autobiography of Andrew Taylor Still

NetLibrary

NetLibrary

LMU’s collection of digital books on a wide range of subject areas (over 1,700 with “health” or medicine” in subject headings)

STAT!Ref Medical

Connect

STAT!Ref Medical provides access to 35 electronic medical books, including textbooks for the LMU-DCOM and PA programs. Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, several Lange books, ACP Medicine, and Review of Medical Physiology by Ganong. Includes several books that contain detailed drug information.

STAT!Ref Nursing

STAT!Ref Nursing

14 books on medical-surgical nursing, pediatric nursing, culturally competent care, diagnostic tests and procedures, and more

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary

STAT!Ref Medical link (See below)

 

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary Special Instructions

1. Click on the STAT!Ref Medical link.

2. Click on the Resources tab at the top of the screen.

3. Click on Stedman’s Medical Dictionary.

Thieme ElectronicBook Library

Thieme ElectronicBook Library

39 electronic books – strengths include anatomy, radiology, biochemistry, microbiology, genetics, and neurology

Other Useful Databases

CINAHL with Full Text

Connect

CINAHL with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 550 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text articles dating back to 1981, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Health Reference Center—Academic

Connect

This database provides full-text access to respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books. Many images are also included.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Connect

Health Source: Consumer Edition offers full-text access to over 300 consumer health periodicals as well as abstracts (summaries) for another 300 periodicals. Also included is full-text access for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets and 147 health reference books.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Connect

The Nursing/Academic edition of Health Source provides full-text access to nearly 550 scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features citations and abstracts (summaries) for nearly 850 journals.

PsycINFO

Connect

This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines. Some of the journal articles are offered in full text.

STAT!Ref Nursing

Connect

The STAT!Ref Online Library is a cross-searchable library with core nursing e-book titles. In ‘Basic’ searches, you can link to specific chapters in each book title or you can keyword search that book with ‘Advanced’ searches. Clicking on a selection shows detailed information in full-text format complete with tables and graphics. In addition to the nursing e-book titles, STAT!Ref also includes databases such as MedCalc3000, Point-of-care tools and learning resources. STAT!Ref titles are also found in the Piper Catalog.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier

Connect

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

ArticleFirst

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

ECO

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) collection of scholary journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Connect

Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.

General OneFile

Connect

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Government Publications Online (GPO)

U.S. Government Publications.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

NetLibrary

NetLibrary provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.

 

OCLC Ebooks

Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

PapersFirst

Online Computer Library Center index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Proceedings

An Online Computer Library Center index of worldwide conference proceedings.

WorldCat

Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

Reference Tools

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

Choice Reviews Online

Connect

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.

CountryWatch

Connect

CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.

Facts on File World News Digest

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

Facts.com: World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, etc.

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Today’s Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General Reference Center Gold

Connect

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Connect

This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.

Learning Express Library

Connect

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

MLA International Bibliography

Connect

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Connect

A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.

Oxford Reference Online

Connect

This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Polling the Nations

Connect

Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Connect

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription

What Do I Read Next?

Connect

What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, and series. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

World Almanac Encyclopedia

Connect

Contains the full text of more than 22,000 articles in Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

World Almanac Reference Database

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

WorldAlmanac

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four additional almanacs.





 
 
^ Scroll to Top