Education

Toggle Subjects

About

Electronic Resources for Education

Welcome to the Education Subject Guide!

Click Databases to access ERIC, Proquest, Full-text dissertations, and other subject-specific databases.

Multidisciplinary and Reference Tools will direct you to other more general databases.

The resources available in the other tabs are meant to compliment more general resources, such as ERIC, available through the library. Many of the links are to freely available authoritative websites about specific topics and issues in the field of Education. There are also some links to resources only available to LMU students which may require the database login. Please contact the library for additional assistance.

Education Databases

ERIC

Connect

ERIC is the premier database for education related journal articles and documents. Full-text access to many of the articles and documents is provided. If an item is not offered in full-text, check the library catalog for the journal title (not article title).

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

Professional Collection

Connect

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full text journals for educators.

ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Full Text: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection

Connect

A comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, this database covers more than 1 million dissertations and theses.

ProQuest Education Journals

Connect

This database contains more than 400 leading journals in the field. Many are available in full text.

Other Education Databases

Cabell’s Directories

Connect

Provides business and education directories that include addresses, phone, e-mail, and websites for a large number of journals to help students and faculty publish their manuscripts.

Educator’s Reference Complete

Connect

Content is from over 400 full-text scholarly and academic journals, hundreds of reports, and a variety of reference sources and focuses on principles and practices in education, child development, educational psychology, and more.  The majority of the full-text titles included can also be found in the ERIC database.

Infotrac Educators 200

Connect

Content includes the full text from over 200 journals and covers a wide variety of subjects, such as the latest technological developments relating to education, instruction and coaching breakthroughs, and child health and psychology.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

Tests in Print

Connect

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Connect

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

ArticleFirst

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

ECO

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) collection of scholary journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Connect

Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.

General OneFile

Connect

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Government Publications Online (GPO)

U.S. Government Publications.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

NetLibrary

NetLibrary provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.

 

OCLC Ebooks

Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

PapersFirst

Online Computer Library Center index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Proceedings

An Online Computer Library Center index of worldwide conference proceedings.

WorldCat

Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

Reference Tools Databases

Biography Resource Center

Connect

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.

Choice Reviews Online

Connect

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.

CountryWatch

Connect

CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.

Facts on File World News Digest

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

Facts.com: World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, etc.

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Today’s Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General Reference Center Gold

Connect

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Connect

This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.

Learning Express Library

Connect

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

MLA International Bibliography

Connect

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Connect

A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.

Oxford Reference Online

Connect

This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Polling the Nations

Connect

Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Connect

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription

What Do I Read Next?

Connect

What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, and series. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

World Almanac Encyclopedia

Connect

Contains the full text of more than 22,000 articles in Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.

World Almanac Reference Database

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

WorldAlmanac

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four additional almanacs.

General Reference Websites

Annenberg Learner


Annenberg Learner

Annenberg Media’s multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Media videos exemplify excellent teaching.

Department of Education Website

This is the official website of the US Department of Education.
Encyclopedia of Education

Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods.

ETS Test Collection Portal


Annenberg Learner

Use this as a supplement to Mental Measurements Yearbook to find descriptions, reviews, and ordering information for thousands of psychological tests.

The Gateway to 21st Century Skills

This is a great website to find lesson plans, activities, games, projects and more for all grade levels and subjects. It is maintained by the National Education Association (NEA) and links to over 49,000 sites. If searching it is a little overwhelming, this video may be helpful.
World Education Encyclopedia

This 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.

International

Global Education Database

This is a highly useful site if you are looking for international comparative education data for developing countries. You can, for instance, easily call up and compare the literacy rates in one country with another.

International Activities Program (IAP)

This website for a program of the U.S. Department of Education Institute of Education Sciences National Center for Education Statistics contains two helpful sections: international indicators and international surveys and assessments.

World Bank Education Statistics

Another good site for international comparative education data.

World Education Encyclopedia

This 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.

Australia

Australia Department of Education

Official site for Australia’s Department of Education.

Australia: Brief Overview of Education System

Covers grading systems, higher education, technical and vocational education, teacher education, and school education.

Brazil

Brazil – Education

This site is maintained by a working group for the United Nations. It gives some basic information about the principles, aims, objectives, organization, and structure of the Brazilian education system. Briefly describes educational levels, programs, and teacher training qualifications.

China

China: Ministry of Education

Official site for China’s Ministry of Education (MOE). The menu on the left has details on: Laws and regulations, planning and statistics, basic education, higher education, vocational education, international cooperation, and a list of Chinese higher education institutions.

Denmark

Cirius: Education in Denmark

Cirius is a Danish agency “supporting internationalization of education and training in Denmark.” This link has a good overview of various aspects of the Danish education system with some nice charts and more detailed information. Click on “English” in the upper right for page translation.

Denmark: Ministry of Education, Facts and Figures 2007

Official Ministry of Education fact sheets. Includes: The education system, finances, basic school, youth education, higher education, and more.

France

France: The State of Education

Lenghty PDF document from the Ministere Education Nationale giving a good overview of the system and detailing education expenditure, personnel, length of schooling, priority education and more.

The Ministere site itself is only in French, so this may be the best document on French education in English you can find.

The European Education Directory: France Higher Education

This site deals mostly with higher education institutions in France. There is some mention of teacher education and qualifications as well.

Germany

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Official German government education website. General information only, mostly in English, some links in German only.
The Education System in the Federal Republic of Germany

Published by the German Education Server (Deutscher Bildungs Server). From the website: The dossier provides a comprehensive overview of the German education system, including political and economic background, covering all levels of education from pre-primary to secondary, higher and continuing education (date: 2005). Furthermore, the evaluation of teachers and institutions is addressed, and special sections cover special needs education and the European dimension. The English language dossier can be accessed at the bottom of the site, either as a full text document containing the dossier as a whole, or by accessing the individual chapters.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Education Bureau

This is Hong Kong government’s official education website. Use the navigation tabs on the left to access information about primary and secondary education, administration, teacher development and more.

India

India: Department of Education Annual Reports

Official Indian DOE Annual Report. Menu links to PDF sections on Administration, Policy, Elementary Education and more.

India: Education

Gives basic overview of Indian Education System. Sections on: Administration and Funding, Primary and Secondary Education, Colleges and Universities, Education and Society,

Source: James Heitzman and Robert L. Worden, editors. India: A Country Study. Washington: GPO for the Library of Congress, 1995.

Israel

Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Education

Israeli government site providing information and statistics on its educational system, levels, programs, and other details.

Japan

MEXT: Japan’s Education at a Glance 2006

More detailed report of various aspects of the Japanese Education system: Statistics, curriculum, facilities, etc.

MEXT: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology – Japan

Official goverment site on education in Japan. Discusses elementary and secondary education, higher education, lifelong learning policy, and more.

Jordan

Country Studies, Jordan: Education

Good brief overview and discussion of the development of Jordan’s education system.

Note on the Source: This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.

Education in Jordan

Brief overview of Jordan’s education system from the official government site.

Pacific Islands

Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education (PADDLE)


PADDLE facilitates the sharing of best practice and experience amongst the fifteen Pacific countries of the Project. The focus of PADDLE is to provide access to all relevant education policy, planning and development material from the participating countries. Most of these documents have previously been unavailable in digital form.

Russia

Country Studies, Russia: Education

Discusses Russian education since the fall of the Soviet Union. Seems to have been published in the 1990s, so more current information may be needed to supplement this discussion.

Source:

Glenn E. Curtis, ed. Russia: A Country Study. Washington: GPO for the Library of Congress, 1996.

 

 

The European Education Directory: Russia

Gives good brief overview of Russian education system, includes: Structure of education system, admissions to higher education, student life, and international cooperation and exchanges.

South Africa

South Africa Department of Education

Official website for South Africa’s Department of Education.
South African DOE Annual Report

PDF of full report (222 pages) with information, statistics, and more on administration, programs, training, and development.

United Kingdom

Directgov: Education and Learning

UK government website on education. Full of information and statistics on all aspects of education in the UK.
Overview of the UK Education System

This document provides a nice succinct overview of the UK’s primary, secondary, and higher education levels. Also covers assessment, academic year, and a narrative of a typical day in a UK school.

TeacherNet: UK Education System

More on the UK education system at this site sponsored by the Department for Children, Schools and Families. Gives structure of the education system, public examinations and qualifications, and also some historical background on the UK’s education system.

No Child Left Behind

A Nation at Risk

Text of the seminal 1983 report A Nation at Risk.

Goals 2000 Legislation and Related Items

Page of links from the U.S. Department of Education about Goals 2000.

Public Law 107-110

Complete text of the act commonly referred to as the “No Child Left Behind Act of 2001″.
The Elementary and Secondary Education Act

Hyperlinked table of contents to the Elementary and Secondary Education Act.

Philosophy and Theory

Biography Resource Center

Biographical database giving good basic overview of the lives of notable figures. If you are off campus, look for this under the “reference tools” section of the electronic database list.
Dr. Black’s Handbook of Educational Philosophy

Former LMU professor’s extended analysis and commentary on many current trends of educational philosophy, including: Idealism, Realism, Neo-Thomism, Pragmatism, and Existentialism. Also a long section on Christian Theism which is clearly the author’s favored position.

Education Philosophy Inventory


Annenberg Learner

This is a quick assessment of your opinions on a number of issues related to the philosophy of education. It indicates which philosophies you may have an affinity for and suggests a number of theorists to explore. Schools of thought include: Essentialism, Behaviorism, Progressivism, Existentialism, Perennialism, and Reconstructionism.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Education
An excellent, though incomplete, educational philosophy resource. The language and tone is more scholarly and technical than many introductory resources. There are entries on individual philosophers such as Plato, Dewey, Dennett, as well as broader concepts such as “pragmatism”, “feminism and philosophy of education”, “ethics and education”, and “knowledge, violence and education”. Also represented are many philosophers not usually discussed in education philosophy text books such as Hegel, Nietzsche, Gadamer, and Habermas, giving overall a more international and continental perspective on philosophy of education. The searching mechanism is a bit cumbersome, but the entire site is almost brief enough to just browse through.

Constructivism

Concept to Classroom: Constructivism

This is a concise, well-written exposition of constructivism beginning with an explanation of the concept and moving toward practical applications in the classroom. Includes critical perspectives. Be sure to check out the “Expert Interview” section for a video interview with educational theorist Jaqueline Grennon Brooks.

Constructivist Views of Learning in Science and Mathematics. ERIC Digest.

This ERIC digest gives a definition and overview of constructivism, suggestions of how to apply it in the classroom, and has a list of further resources.
Vygotsky’s Constructivism

Discusses constructivism as advanced by Russian psychologist Lev Vygotsky who offers a critical alternative to Piaget’s theories. Written in a casual, engaging style without losing scholarly focus. Includes also vignettes to give you a real life application understanding. Be sure to check out the narrated PowerPoint and other animated tutorials.

Existentialism

Existential Approaches to Action Research

Allan Feldman gives an account of his existential approach to conducting action research which involves a discussion of existentialism in educational theory and practice.
Existentialism in Education

Van Cleve Morris’ book on existentialism gives a synopsis of existentialist philosophy and its application to educational practice. Available in PRINT ONLY from the library. Contact the library for document delivery if you are off-campus.

Realism

Aristotle

This is a brief entry about Aristotle’s ideas on education provided by infed, “a small, independent, not-for-profit site put together by a small group of educators” with a focus on “informal schooling”.
Realism in Education

William Oliver Martin’s book on realism in education gives a synopsis of idealism and its application to educational theories and practices. Available in PRINT ONLY from the library. Contact the library for document delivery if you are off-campus.

Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy

Good overview of this seminal classification of educational goals and objectives. Includes a fun summary animation show.

Marzano

1. Identifying Similiarities and Differences
2. Summarizing and Note Taking
3. Reinforcing Effort and Providing Recognition
4. Homework and Practice
5. Nonlinguistic Representations
6. Cooperative Learning
7. Setting Objectives and Providing Feedback
8. Generating and Testing Hypotheses
9. Cues, Questions, and Advance Organizers

Research and Statistics

Global Education Database

This is a highly useful site if you are looking for international comparative education data for developing countries. You can, for instance, easily call up and compare the literacy rates in one country with another.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
World Bank Education Statistics

Another good site for international comparative education data.

Technology Tips

Cmap Tools

If you’re a visual learner and like to sketch out connections between ideas this may be useful to you. Cmap allows you to create and easily modify concept maps and share and snych with others users.

Download here

Delicious – Social Bookmarking

“Delicious Bookmarks is the official Firefox add-on for Delicious, the world’s leading social bookmarking service (formerly del.icio.us). It integrates your bookmarks and tags with Firefox and keeps them in sync for easy, convenient access.”

Download here

Mind Meister

This is another free mind/concept mapping program.

Download here

Zotero

Zotero is free citation management software program. It is a Mozilla Firefox browser extension. This means you have have and use the Firefox browser (also a free download if you don’t have it on your home computer; it is installed on the computers in the LMU labs).

What this means is when you find an article, book, website, or whatever that you want to use as a source for a paper, class project, or whatever, you just have to click a little icon on the browser and the item will be added to Zotero. From Zotero, you can create folders, tag, sort, and create instant bibliographies of selected sources.

Download here and watch the how to use video.

Tutorials

Accessing ERIC
Ebsco: Auto-cite

Ebsco: Auto-cite

Easily generate a citation in APA (or MLA and other styles) for articles in Ebsco databases.

Ebsco: Personal Account

Ebsco: Personal Account

Setting up a personal account in the Ebsco databases (for ERIC, CINAHL, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and others) allows you to store articles and searches in a permanent folder.

ERIC: Basic Searching

This video tutorial discusses the basics of searching in ERIC.

ERIC: Using the Thesaurus

This video tutorial goes over using the thesaurus in ERIC in more detail.

Full-Text: Finding an article from a citation
Full-text: Using Find It
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Accessing and Searching
ISLLC Standards Searching Guide

Looking for articles about the ISLLC Standards? Download this document for suggestions.

List of Caldecott, Newberry, Wilder and other award winning books

List of Caldecott, Newberry, Wilder and other award winning books

Note that Caldecott and Newberry are for award winning books. The library should have all of these (they may be checked out though). The Laura Ingalls Wilder award and many other awards are for authors or illustrators, not specific books.

NCLB Pillar Search Suggestions
Piper: EBooks

Piper: EBooks

How to access ebooks through the online catalog Piper.

Research Process








 
 
^ Scroll to Top