Below you will find a guide of resources specific to this subject, including electronic resources and more. Click on the links below to access an electronic resource specific to this subject. Click on the blue bars to see a brief description of each resource.
If you have difficulty connecting or need login information, please email the library for assistance or call us at 1-800-325-0900, ext. 7079.
Natural Sciences-specific
AccessScience provides fully searchable access to the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
AGRICOLA is a public domain Web site created by the National Agricultural Library with bibliographic databases of citations to the agricultural literature. The records describe publications and sources encompassing agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, and environmental sciences. The Web interface may contain citations or may link to agency authored publications.
Full text access to 30+ selected titles published by the American Chemical Society; provides coverage of chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, physical chemistry, and organic chemistry.
WilsonWeb’s Biological & Agricultural Index Plus is a bibliographic database that indexes English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. The database includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Periodical coverage includes a wide range of scientific journals, from popular to professional, that pertain to biology and agriculture.
Coverage dates:Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1994+ .Biological & Agricultural Index Plus offers researchers convenient online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture—much of it from peer-reviewed journals—plus full text. Full text citations also link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research.
Subjects: Agricultural Chemicals, Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Engineering, Agriculture and Agricultural Research, Animal Sciences, Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany, Cytology, Ecology, Entomology, Environmental Science, Fishery Sciences, Food Science, Forestry, Genetics, Horticulture, Immunology, Limnology, Marine Biology, Microbiology, Nutrition, Paleontology, Physiology, Plant Pathology, Soil Science, Veterinary Medicine, Weed Sciences, Wildlife Management, Zoology.
Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences includes 3,000 original peer-reviewed articles written by an international roster of 5,000 experts in their fields.
Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field. Colour illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. All articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature. Articles are divided into three different categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory, Advanced and Keynote. Introductory articles have been written primarily for undergraduate and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Advanced articlesprovide a more detailed discussion of specialist subjects, equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles provide a platform for debate where controversial issues and ‘hot topics’ can be discussed.
Subjects: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Functional and Comparative Morphology, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, Virology.
Searchable full-text of the 4th edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, which provides information of the chemical industry and allied fields.
Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.Key features include over 1,000 articles, with more than 600 new or updated — over 10% of the content is updated annually and monthly updates that keep the online version on the cutting edge of chemical technology.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 17 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950’s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also provides access to 70 leading veterinary journals. To limit your search to veterinary science, simply select “animal” in “Limits.” To limit your search to nursing journals, simply select “Nursing journals” as a “Subset” in “Limits.”
Science Select is a 100% full-text database providing full text articles, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, of a core selection of science periodicals from the following periodical databases: Applied Science & Technology Full Text; Biological & Agricultural Index; and General Science Full Text. Additional relevant journals selected from other Wilson periodical databases are also included. Full text coverage begins 1994 or later depending on rights for a particular journal.
This database includes over 1,000 full-text journals that are useful to biology, nursing, osteopathic medicine, psychology, veterinary technology, and other programs of study. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
Multidisciplinary
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.
Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out”; they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.
NetLibrary provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.
Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Reference Tools
A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 300,000 notable people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.
CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest, Issues & Controversies, Today’s Science, World Almanac, and World Almanac Encyclopedia to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people of the last 60+ years.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.
This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.
Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.
Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.
This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.
Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription
What Do I Read Next? includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. Search by genre, subject, author, title, and series. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.
Contains the full text of more than 22,000 articles in Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia.
FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.



