Newspapers

Toggle Subjects

Newspapers

National Newspaper Index

National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America’s top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Note: This is not a full-text database.

Newstand

Newsstand allows users to search full-text news articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or subject. Includes more than 1,000 newspapers, including national U.S. news sources such as The New York Times, U.S. Newswire,  and the Economist, as well as a multitude of international newspapers from countries such Armenia, Bangladesh, Canada, Jordan, and Pakistan, among many others.

Regional Business News

Connect

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Other Useful Databases

Informe!

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Multidisciplinary

Academic OneFile

Includes millions of articles from peer-reviewed journals and reference resources from 1980 to the present, and the full text of the New York Times from 1995 to the present.  Subject coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, religion, and the arts and humanities.

Academic Search Premier

Connect

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.

ArticleFirst

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) index of articles from the contents pages of journals.

Biography Reference Center

Connect

Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including content from American National Biography, Biography’s Complete Collection, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, Columbia University Press Biographies, Congressional Biographies, Salem Press biographies, and much more.

Career Transitions

Career Transitions is an online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end, including the following steps: 1) exploring new career possibilities; 2) assessing interests and past experience; 3) identifying ways to improve prospects, including networking and education; 4) preparing for a job search; and 5) searching and applying for jobs.

Culinary Arts Collection

The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines covering thousands of recipes, nutritional news and information, restaurant reviews, and industry news.

Diversity Studies Collection

The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community and includes more than 150 journals.

eBook Collection from EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)


The eBook Collection from EBSCOHost provides access to digital versions of books from a broad range of subject areas and topics including some books of historical information. Licensure review materials are included for COMLEX-USA and USMLE review. Click here to see eBook Collection instructions for downloading books.

ECO

An Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) collection of scholary journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Connect

Web provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. The full-text for some titles may be subject to publisher-imposed embargo periods.

General OneFile

Connect

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Government Publications Online (GPO)

U.S. Government Publications.

JSTOR

Connect

The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection

The Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection is one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of Lincoln artifacts. This database includes three-dimensional artifacts as well as books, pamphlets, photographs, clothing, political objects, fine art, and manuscripts and documents. Other features of the website in addition to the searchable database include virtual exhibits, announcements of upcoming Lincoln-related events, the Lincoln Timeline, an Ask an Expert page, etc.

Mango

Connect

Content covers 34 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, among many others, as well as a wide variety of English as a second language (ESL) content.  Most languages include both basic and advanced levels of learning. Mango allows students to hear pronunciation by native speakers and provides students practice with conversational phrases and dialogues. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Connect

“The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. The NDLTD assists students and universities in using electronic publishing and digital libraries to more effectively share knowledge in order to unlock the potential benefits worldwide.”

OCLC Ebooks

Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context includes topic overviews and  frequently updated viewpoint articles addressing multiple sides of  current and controversial topics, as well as the full text of a multitude of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles.   Also includes links to statistics, images, videos, and links to authoritative web-sites.

PapersFirst

Online Computer Library Center index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Proceedings

An Online Computer Library Center index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Student Resources in Context

Student Resources in Context encompasses a multitude of content, including:  thousands of articles from standard reference sources; millions of newspaper and journal articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many other academic, professional, and news publications ; thousands of primary sources;  and video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.

WorldCat

Online Computer Library Center catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

WorldCat Dissertations

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

Reference Tools

Choice Reviews Online

Connect

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. More than 35,000 librarians, faculty, and key decision makers rely on Choice magazine and ChoiceReviews.online for collection development and scholarly research.

CountryWatch

Connect

CountryWatch provides a variety of facts on over 192 countries, from basic information such as statistics and important persons, to maps and currency converters, to encyclopedic resources on history and economy. This database is extremely valuable for the history major or any student researching the United States.

Facts on File World News Digest

Connect

FACTS.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, issues, statistics and people from 1940 to the present. It also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers and events since 1940.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Connect

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

General Reference Center Gold

Connect

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one search interface. Use this database to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals. Many items contain full-text and images.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Connect

This database is a user-friendly great place for consumers to start researching health topics. It provides full-text access to health related magazines, journals, pamphlets, newspapers, encyclopedias, videos, and even Web sites.

Infotrac Information Science & Library Issues Collection

Connect

This collection contains full text current content from over 100 journals, which will help information professionals of many kinds to grow in their areas of expertise.

Learning Express Library

Connect

Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You’ll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Click on a category to the right so that you can start on your path to success right now.

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Mango

Connect

Content covers 34 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish, among many others, as well as a wide variety of English as a second language (ESL) content.  Most languages include both basic and advanced levels of learning. Mango allows students to hear pronunciation by native speakers and provides students practice with conversational phrases and dialogues. Mango is the only library subscription that is available for LMU alumni to use; alumni may access the resource within the LMU alumni portal.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Connect

Contains descriptive information & critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement & intelligence tests.

MLA International Bibliography

Connect

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Connect

A dictionary of the English language providing the meaning, history, and pronounciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Provides extensive background on the current and historical usage of words through over 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. The full text of all entries is searchable.

Oxford Reference Online

Connect

This database contains several online reference books on performing arts including The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. The collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works in a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.

Points of View

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.

Polling the Nations

Connect

Polling the Nations contains the results of over 14,000 national and international surveys from Gallup Poll, Roper, and many other reputable polling organizations. Surveys contained in this database can reveal much about financial investments opinions, public policy, employee job satisfaction, money management, and consumer trends.

Ulrich’s Periodical Directory

Connect

Ulrich’s is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription




 
 
^ Scroll to Top ^