Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Subject Guide: Home
The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America by Driven by the growing reality of international terrorism, the threats to civil liberties and individual rights in America are greater today than at any time since the McCarthy era in the 1950s. At this critical time when individual freedoms are being weighed against the need for increased security, this exhaustive three-volume set provides the most detailed coverage of contemporary and historical issues relating to basic rights covered in the United States Constitution. The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America examines the history and hotly contested debates surrounding the concept and practice of civil liberties. It provides detailed history of court cases, events, Constitutional amendments and rights, personalities, and themes that have had an impact on our freedoms in America. The Encyclopedia appraises the state of civil liberties in America today, and examines growing concerns over the limiting of personal freedoms for the common good. Complete with selected relevant documents and a chronology of civil liberties developments, and arranged in A-Z format with multiple indexes for quick reference, The Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America includes in-depth coverage of: freedom of speech, religion, press, and assembly, as outlined in the first amendment; protection against unreasonable search and seizure, as outlined in the fourth amendment; criminal due process rights, as outlined in the fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth amendments; property rights, economic liberties, and other rights found within the text of the United States Constitution; Supreme Court justices, presidents, and other personalities, focusing specifically on their contributions to or effect on civil liberties; concepts, themes, and events related to civil liberties, both practical and theoretical; court cases and their impact on civil liberties.
Publication Date: 2015
The Sage Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by In 1980, SAGE published Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences. It opens with a quote from Blaise Pascal: "There are truths on this side of the Pyrenees that are falsehoods on the other." The book became a classic--one of the most cited sources in the Social Science Citation Index--and subsequently appeared in a second edition in 2001. This new SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence picks up on themes explored in that book. Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise. What defines a culture? What barriers might block successful communication between individuals or agencies of differing cultures? How can those barriers be understood and navigated to enhance intercultural communication and understanding? These questions and more are explained within the pages of this new reference work. Key Features: 300 to 350 entries organized in A-to-Z fashion in two volumes Signed entries that conclude with Cross-References and Suggestions for Further Readings Thematic "Reader's Guide" in the front matter grouping related entries by broad topic areas Chronology that provides a historical perspective of the development of cultural competence as a discrete field of study Resources appendix and a comprehensive Index The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence is an authoritative and rigorous source on intercultural competence and related issues, making it a must-have reference for all academic libraries.
Publication Date: 2015
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America updates the essays in the second edition on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. It will also add cultures not covered in the second edition. The Encyclopedia also includes ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers, names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations, and a list of suggestions for further reading. Includes 23 new ethnic groups and 152 revised ethnic entries. Approximately one-third of the essays will include a recipe for a traditional dish associated with that ethnic group. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Consistent headings throughout each essay will make information easy to find and invite comparisons, and full color photographs and illustrations will make the content more engaging. Each essay will also be accompanied by a map showing either historical or current population patterns in the United States for the ethnic group in question. Key Features Advisory board guided the content updating Each signed entry has been reviewed by a subject scholar for accuracy Engaging, beautiful images now in full color Traditional recipes accompany c. one third of the entries (new feature) Up-to-date census information and population maps Updated directory information 23 new entries, 152 revised entries
Publication Date: 2014
School Social Work by Offering a unique focus on evidence-based interventions, critical thinking, and diversity, School Social Work: A Direct Practice Guide covers the foundations of working with children and adolescents in the schools. Each chapter reviews a basic concept and then provides two in-depth activities that allow readers to apply the concepts to real life practice situations. Practical, hands-on experiences, best practice approaches, and case examples throughout the book demonstrate assessments and techniques in action with vulnerable populations and help readers to understand the nuances and complexities of working in a school environment. The book begins with an overview of theory important to social work in the school setting, then covers a wide array of topics, including a typical day in the life of a school social worker; skills and techniques; special education; crisis intervention; collaboration and school consultation; current issues in education; ethical dilemmas; policy, program development, and evaluation; and global issues in school social work.
Call Number: 3 Day Reserve LB3013.4 .T89
Publication Date: 2013
Don't See Something You Should?
Please feel free to contact us and make suggestions, whether for recommending information that would be helpful, changing anything on the website, and so forth. Your feedback is important for us. We will gladly listen!