Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat

Reed Health Sciences Library: Tutorials

 

See the tabs below for brief videos on key aspects of searching and using library resources.  Confused?  Feel free to contact a librarian via email or click on the chat button on the right for more information on any of the topics below. 

 

Library Resources and Services  

Resources and Services for Faculty

This video provides a basic overview of library resources and services provided by the Reed Health Sciences Library for faculty.

Search Basics

Boolean Logic

This 1:57 minute video provides a brief overview of Boolean Logic (using AND/OR/NOT to search.)

For more information, check out the tutorial Boolean Opperators: Pirates vs. Ninjas, by previous LMU librarian, Zachary Sharrow.

Search Terms

This 1:39 minute video provides a brief explanation of controlled vocabulary, such as Mesh, and keywords.

Search Structure

This 50 second video provides a quick explanation of how to structure a search using parenthesis, specifically in PubMed.

Phrase Searching

This 35 second video provides a brief explanation of phrase searching in PubMed.

Truncation

This 34 second video provides a brief explanation of truncation in PubMed.

UpToDate  

UpToDate: Register & Login

Describes registering and logging into UpToDate

UpToDate: Searching

Shows a sample search and results in UpToDate along with reference options.

PubMed Basics  

Introduction to PubMed

This video introduces PubMed as a library database. It discusses crafting a research question using the PICO framework, as well as performing PubMed searches using keywords, phrases, Boolean logic, controlled vocabularies, and the advanced search feature.

Accessing PubMed

This 40 second video provides viewers with instruction on how to access PubMed through the Reed Health Sciences Library Website.

Mesh Terms

This 2:24 minute video provides a basic overview of Mesh Terms.  

For more information about Mesh Terms see the other Mesh Term video in this tab and the Controlled Vocabulary video in the Search Basics tab on this page.

Pros and Cons of Using Mesh

This 25 second video provides one explanation of the pros and cons of using Mesh Terms to search.  

For more information about Mesh Terms see the other Mesh Term video in this tab and the Controlled Vocabulary video in the Search Basics tab on this page.

Keyword Searching and Automatic Term Mapping

This 1:12 minute tutorial provides an example of a basic keyword search and explains Automatic Term Mapping in relation to keyword searches in PubMed.

Advanced Search Builder

This 1:13 minute tutorial provides viewers with a very basic look at PubMed's Advanced Search Builder.  

For more information please see the Mesh tutorials in this tab as well as Boolean Logic, truncation, and phrase searching videos in the Search Basics tab.

Search Filter

This 51 second video provides a brief demonstration of using filters in PubMed.

Saving Searches

This 40 second tutorial provides viewers with a brief overview of how to save searches in PubMed.

Ordering Articles

This 1:23 minute tutorial provides a brief explanation of how to order articles through PubMed.  

For more information, please see this handout on ordering articles through PubMed as well as the interlibrary loan tutorial in the website tab on this page.

Mobile Resources

Mobile Resources: Locating Available Apps

How to locate mobile apps on the Reed Health Sciences Library's webpage.

Mobile Resources: UpToDate App

Describes the UpToDate app's features. You must have an UpToDate account through LMU to access the app.

Mobile Resources: Micromedex & Epocrates

Overview of two prominent drug apps, Micromedex and Epocrates.

Mobile Resources: Read by QxMD

Features the Read by QxMD app that enables one to keep up with the latest journal articles, including many with full-text access through LMU's Reed Health Sciences Library.