Wills, Trusts and Estates: Print Study Aids

This new edition of Understanding Trusts and Estates retains the style and clear language that have kept generations of students engaged as they explore this intriguing field. Updates include coverage of electronic wills, new uniform act treatment of the parent-child relationship and unmarried cohabitants, directed trusts and trust protectors, and the uniform power of appointment act. Examples, charts, cross-references among similar concepts, and frameworks for analyzing problem areas all combine to give students the tools to deepen their understanding. Examples throughout the book demonstrate how trusts and estates doctrines affect real people. An earlier edition of this title is available as a Lexis OverDrive Study Aid.

The Fourth Edition of Concepts and Insights on Trusts and Estates makes complex doctrinal rules easier to understand by exploring the history and rationale behind those rules. The analysis is thorough, and focuses both on common law doctrines and statutory reforms--with an emphasis on the Uniform Probate Code and the Uniform Trust Code. Each substantive chapter closes with a set of exam-like problems designed to test understanding of the material included in the chapter. The authors also include thorough solutions to each of these problems. This is the only book in the field that combines thorough doctrinal analysis with more than 60 review problems, each with complete solutions.

A comprehensive one-volume treatise on the law of trusts and estates written by leading experts. Among the topics covered are intestate succession, wills, nonprobate mechanisms, trusts, fiduciary administration, and choice of law. The book includes the very latest hot topics including electronic wills, trust decanting, directed trusts, asset protection trusts, and planning for modern families. The book incorporates the most recent provisions of the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Trust Code, and the many other uniform laws relating to the donative transfer of wealth. The book also includes an overview of the federal transfer tax laws. An essential guide for students and practitioners.

This book introduces wills terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law of trusts with references to the Uniform Trust Code and the Restatement of Trusts. It uses problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and deaths, such as those of Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher to illustrate legal issues. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar. A later edition of this title is available as a West Electronic Study Aid.

This book explains the rules for transferring property interests during the owner's life and at his or her death. In addition to transfers covered by wills and trusts, it covers transfers by intestate succession, by outright gift, and by beneficiary designation. Discussion includes the transferor's goals, the potential roadblocks to meeting those goals, and default rules that may apply when the transferor failed to consider those roadblocks. Students will see how the various ways for transferring property resemble each other, how they differ, and how they interact with each other. This book includes numerous examples illustrating the relevant concepts.

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. A later edition of this title is available as an Aspen Learning Library Study Aid.

This study guide includes multiple-choice and short-answer questions arranged topically for ease of use during the semester, plus an additional set of questions comprising a comprehensive "practice exam." For each multiple-choice question, Professor Featherston provides a detailed answer that indicates which of four options is the best answer and explains thoroughly why that option is better than the other three options. Each short-answer question is designed to be answered in fifteen minutes or less. For these questions, Professor Featherston provides a thoughtful, comprehensive, yet brief model answer. Also available as a Lexis OverDrive Study Aid.

Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a concise, straightforward style that clearly identifies the essential components of the law and how they fit together. You can quickly learn what is important and why. Overviews and Tables of Contents in each chapter act as a roadmap to guide you through topics, showing you how each relates to the larger legal framework. FAQs clarify points of law and help you avoid common mistakes and misconceptions. Sidebars give fascinating additional detail from legal history, policy, famous cases and more. Also available as an Aspen Learning Library Study Aid.