It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of PhilosophyEnglish-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon BlackburnFrom Aristotle to Zen, this is the most comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date dictionary of philosophy available. Ideal for students or a general readership, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only the Western philosophical tradition but also important themes fromChinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. * 2,500 entries including the most recent terms and concepts * Biographical entries for nearly 500 philosophers * Terms relevant to philosophy from neighbouring disciplines Chronology of philosophical events
Publication Date: 1996-
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert AudiContains comprehensive entries on major philosophers (e.g. Aristotle, Henry More) including pre-eminent contemporary philosophers (e.g. Nussbaum). Extensively covers rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics. International in scope with entries on non-Western and non-European philosophy, including African, Arabic, Islamic, Japanese, Jewish, Korean and Latin-American philosophy and broad coverage of Continental philosophy.
A Dictionary of Philosophy, MacmillanFrom the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent encroachment of social and psychological sciences.
Philosophy by Nigel WarburtonNigel Warburton brings philosophy to life with an imaginative selection of philosophical writings on key topics. Philosophy: Basic Readingsis the ideal introduction to some of the most accessible and thought-provoking pieces in philosophy, both contemporary and classic. The second edition of Philosophy: Basic Readingshas been expanded to include new pieces in each major area of philosophy: #65533; What is philosophy? #65533; God #65533; Right and wrong #65533; The external world #65533; Science #65533; Mind #65533; Art The readings in Philosophy: Basic Readingscomplement the chapters in Philosophy: The Basics (4th edition 2004).
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Philosophy BookThe Philosophy Book untangles knotty theories and sheds light on abstract concepts, and is perfect for anyone with a general interest in how our social, political, and ethical ideas are formed, as well as students of philosophy and politics.