It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
First Amendment Seminar: Databases, Books, & eBooks
“The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926″ provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
US Constitutional Law (USC) provides a comprehensive research resource on the law, politics, and history of constitutionalism in the United States at the federal and state levels. Combining extensive primary materials with expert commentary, the service provides researchers with unparalleled access to the historical development of federal and state constitutionalism.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database. The search and discovery interface for the collection allows researchers to locate the full text of documents and quickly filter their search results by document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, and date declassified as well as other document characteristics.
Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.
The following resources are a sample of what is available to you through the DSOL on-site library. Follow the links to check their availability.
This book brings contract law to life through contemporary problems to help students build a skill set they can use in practice. In the real world of practice, abstract contract principles are applied to specific factual settings. Facts don't arrive pre-digested and regurgitated for baby birds or law associates. This book pickpockets life for real-world documents and contemporary situations to help students learn how contract law works in practice. Concise discussion of the law accompanying each problem provides a base for students and enough material for traditional Socratic method teaching.
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis.
Written by a leading national scholar, Farber's coverage of the First Amendment is clear and accessible. All of the major areas of this complex doctrine are reviewed, including religion clauses. The text also serves as an introduction to the major debates over controversial issues such as pornography and hate speech.
This Stories title will enrich First Amendment courses and help students appreciate the premises that animate the cases and the values that are at stake in religious-liberty and free-speech controversies, rarely captured fully by doctrinal presentations. This collection offers carefully selected and rich cases that involve real stories, which can themselves serve as points-of-entry to the many great, ongoing debates that run through our free-speech and religious-liberty traditions. These case stories offer the historical and political contexts and engage with the theoretical and practical implications, giving an understanding essential for any First Amendement student, practitioner, or scholar.
This product provides a short and readable source for individuals interested in constitutional law, First Amendment law, and communications law. It is divided into four parts: the history, methodology, and philosophical foundations of the First Amendment; topics such as First Amendment issues that arise in cable television and in regulating children's access to the Internet; issues in First Amendment law such as the public forum doctrine, the compelled speech doctrine, and the free expression rights of government employees; and the text, history, and theory of the religion clauses, chronicling the ongoing battle in the Supreme Court between accommodationists and separationists.
Search the Digital Collection (Aquabrowser)
Search all eBook and eJournal collections in the DSOL Library: