It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DSOL's West Academic Study Aids subscription provides students with online access to more than 470 study aids including case briefs, outlines, overviews and exam prep titles. Online study aids are the best way for students to find exam practice problems and answers.
This book discusses the Uniform Commercial Code (U.C.C.) Articles 3, 4, and 4A in detail. It also explains to what extent provisions and interpretive cases decided prior to the promulgation of Article 4A and prior to the 1990 revision of Articles 3 and 4 are still useful, and why changes made were needed. It discusses issues not generally recognized and treated elsewhere, including the meaning of the new standard of good faith, the relation between "accountability" and "final payment," and consequences of radical truncation. In addition to the discussion of payment Articles in the Uniform Commercial Code, the book contains up to date discussion of other payment systems like credit and debit card systems, and other payment methods including prepaid cards, PayPal, mobile payments, and virtual currency transfers.
Provides law students with an in-depth introduction to the UCC without burdening them with unnecessary detail. Citations have been used to enable the reader to understand the kinds of cases that might be presented under particular provisions of the Code. The chapters on Article 9 have been completely rewritten to deal only with revised Article 9 (1999). Similar revisions have been made to the chapter on Article 5 (1996 revision) and to other parts of the book to account for other Code amendments.
This text summarizes and explains the fundamental law applicable to a broad variety of current payment systems. Coverage includes issues of liability, transfer, holder in due course status, and check collection applicable to negotiable instruments (checks, notes, drafts) governed by UCC Articles 3 and 4, as well as letters of credit and documents of title governed by UCC Articles 5 and 7. The text further examines the rights, obligations, and federal protection applicable to credit and debit cards. Finally, this title addresses recent legal developments in regard to a variety of electronic fund transfers, prepaid cards and digital currencies.
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. The Payments Law Outline summarizes and explains the fundamental law applicable to a broad variety of current payment systems, including checks, drafts, credit cards, debit cards, prepaid cards, and digital currencies.
The topics covered in this outline include types of commercial paper, negotiability, negotiation, holders in due course, and claims and defenses on negotiable instruments, including real defenses and personal defenses. Also discussed are liability of the parties (including merger rule, suits on the instrument, warranty suits, and conversion), bank deposits and collections, forgery or alteration of negotiable instruments, and electronic banking.
High Court Case Summaries on Commercial Law contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Whaley's casebook on commercial law. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core "take away" knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases. Finally, to enhance the reader's recall, there is a corresponding memory graphic for each brief that portrays an entertaining visual representation of the relevant facts or law of the case.
This comprehensive text provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2015 Term are discussed in depth, including, for example, Stern, Wellness, Arkison, Caulkett, Schwab, Ransom, Lanning, Baker Botts, and many more.
This book will give students a rigorous introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code without burdening them with needless citations. The new edition deals not only with the 1999 revisions to Article 9 but also with the recent revisions to Article 1. This edition also addresses the earlier revisions to Articles 5, 3, and 4. It has limited coverage of the failed attempt to revise Article 2.
This product provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code for students and practitioners alike. It covers each major topic of the Code, including the process of selling, payment, negotiation, shipping, storage, financing sales, and leasing of goods. In addition, the text makes it possible for readers to see how the various articles of the Code may interact in a single transaction. Wherever practicable, the actual language of the Code and its comments has been used. The comprehensive outline, references to relevant authority, and intuitive system of cross-referencing all contribute to its ease of use. This eighth edition contains the 2010 Amendments to Article 9, with an effective date of July 1, 2013.