Lincoln Memorial University Libraries: Comparative Legal Traditions: State Comparative Law Resources

State Comparative Law Databases

National Survey of State Laws
This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015. All print editions are included in HeinOnline's image-based, fully searchable, user-friendly platform.
Subject Compilations of State Laws
This library features a database giving you access to more than 25,000 bibliographic records from Cheryl Nyberg's Subject Compilations Bibliography Series. Many records contain extensive annotations with links directly to articles and other documents residing in HeinOnline. In addition to a searchable database, HeinOnline also includes the exact replicas of the original bound volumes.
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
This library contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. All states are current within 60 days of the printed publication, and all states are available back to inception!
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
This provides access to the full text of all Model Acts drafted, recommended or endorsed by the Conference. It includes the NCCUSL - Archive Publications, Handbook of the NCCUSL, and Proceedings of the Annual Conference Meeting from the first through the most recent Annual Meeting. Transcripts of the Proceedings of each Annual Meeting, as well as the transcripts of the discussions in the Committee of the whole of each Uniform and Model Act, are available. Also included are the approved "successive drafts" of each Uniform and Model Act.
Legal Research Guide Series
A collection of works, scholarly articles and tools for librarians, faculty, and students! Content includes: AALL GD-SIS State Bibliographies, AALL Publication Series, Legal Dictionaries, Serials, Cataloging Publications, Bibliographies, Bibliography of Early American Law, Legal Research Guide Series, Memorials of Law Librarians and much more!

DSOL Print Resources

The following resources are a sample of what is available on the first floor of the DSOL library. Follow the links to check availability. Take any items you wish to check-out to the automated circulation unit in the lobby and scan your library bar code (affixed to the back of your LMU ID) to begin.

National Survey of State Laws by Richard A. Leiter
Call Number: LAW KF 86 .N38 2015
ISBN: 0837740266
Publication Date: 2015
This new edition of NSSL covers the changes that have happened in many areas of law since 2008, including abortion, the right to die, gun control, prayer in public schools, marijuana, marriage, personal income tax, drunk driving, capital punishment, right to work, lemon laws, leases and other agreements, child custody, and legal ages. Presented in chart format, NSSL allows users to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The subjects featured fall into eight general legal categories: Business and Consumer Laws; Criminal Laws; Education Laws; Employment Laws; Family Laws; General Civil Laws; Real Estate Laws; and Tax Laws. Within each section each topic is arranged alphabetically and is presented in its own subsection, which begins with a general overview followed by a table that briefly summarizes each state's and the District of Columbia's statutes on particular aspects of law. References to each state's statute or code section covering that law are also presented, enabling users who are interested in reading the original text to find it easily. The appendix, Statutory Compilations Used in This Book, provides the abbreviations and full names of each state code.--Publisher.
Uniform Laws Annotated
Call Number: LAW KF165 .A5 1968
Directory of uniform acts drafted by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws and recommended for adoption in all states, and tables of adopting jurisdictions.

Ask a Librarian

Library Hours & Reference

For holiday hours, please check Blackboard
	Library Hours	Reference Hours
Monday	7 am - 11 pm	9 am - 5 pm
Tuesday	7 am - 11 pm	9 am - 5 pm
Wednesday	7 am - 11 pm	9 am - 5 pm
Thursday	7 am - 11 pm	9 am - 5 pm
Friday	7 am - 11 pm	9 am - 5 pm
Saturday	9 am - 7 pm	Mosio - Ask a Librarian
Sunday	11 am - 7 pm	Mosio - Ask a Librarian