It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Copy of J. Frank White Page: Research Help: English and History
This bibliographic database provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. It is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history with indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present, citations and links to books and media reviews, and coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.
Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of more than 430,000 full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. This resource provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
For students studying local and regional history, the Digital Library of Appalachia is an excellent resource. The DLA seeks to provide online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The over 1000 items in the database include reproductions of photographs, reformatted typed pages, published books, unpublished manuscripts, personal diaries and correspondence, journal and newspaper articles, musical recordings, oral history recordings and transcripts, and other related reproductions.
The Making of the Modern World provides digital images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text coverage includes millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) and includes content relevant to subjects such as history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Oral History Online is a landmark database of English language oral histories. It contains at present more than 34,000 pages of full-text content that is available exclusively in Alexander Street Press databases. This full-text material includes Ellis Island oral history narratives and rare Black Panther Party interviews. With each quarterly update of Oral History Online, we will add more of such proprietary (in-copyright) full-text interviews.
Since 1854 the Tennessee State Library and Archives has been collecting and preserving Tennessee history. With a vast collection books, official records and private manuscripts, the Library and Archives is the premier research library for Tennessee genealogy. Many indexes and finding aids are available online to help researchers learn about the many and varied collections housed at the Library and Archives.
Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) is a program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. The mission is to bring electronic versions of the state’s rich collections to a wider audience. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.
From King George’s Proclamation of 1763 to the earliest purchase of land from Native Americans to the first Constitutions of the State of Tennessee, these are among the most important records from our past. Significant milestones in the formation and early history of the state are presented here for the first time in digital form taken directly from the originals, with full transcription and accompanying historical text. These Landmark Documents are available for citizens and students to search, study, and download.
Literature Online (LION) is the most authoritative and comprehensive primary and critical text database for literary research at all levels. The collection includes full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose stretching back to the 8th century through to the present day. Additionally, Literature Online enhances the study of primary works with its audio and video components; a library of over 900 videos featuring poets reading their own and others’ works and dramatic audio recordings of all of Shakespeare’s plays in the renowned Complete Arkangel Shakespeare series. This comprehensive collection of primary works, with thousands of titles unique to Literature Online, including over 425 volumes from the indispensable Penguin Classics series, provides essential content for all arts and humanities faculties, as well as for literature departments.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Search the Catalog
The Worldcat Library Catalog allows students and faculty to search for print books, ebooks and journal articles all at once. It searches multiple databases at the same time. Search by Author, Title, Keyword and other options in combination or just single word searches. Users can look for items available from LMU or in universities worldwide that can then be ordered through Inter-Library Loan. Friendly librarians are available to help with all research assignments.