Internal Guide for LMU Libraries: ILL

First configure your software to include the desired tabs for Google, PubMed [this one is probably automataic], WorldCat and Amazon.
Inside ILLiad click on systems tab at the top of the page.
To the far right is Manage addons.
Click yes or no to enable tabs.
 
Front-end Borrowing [some things can only be done in Harrogate, like pulling books from our collections]

1. Borrowing tab – Awaiting Odyssey Processing queue – check ongoing and process incoming articles

i.Borrowing / Electronic Delivery / Process Elec Del / Process Files / click TN number lower left to open.
ii.Check scan and deliver if perfect.  If sent as a TIFF file such that the tools are lighted up for edition you can edit in this step before sending. Crop to eliminate black areas and SAVE before clicking Deliver. If ILLiad won’t let you crop because it is a PDF file then Save As / Libraries / Documents / PDFs using the TN number. Open in Adobe and crop and save.
iii.To upload, open record and process [Borrowing/checkin from lending library/scan now] as for PDFs sent via email or Article Exchange.
iv.Borrowing / Electronic Delivery / Clear when finished incoming.
v.Problems might arise that are not covered here.
 

1. Awaiting Unfilled Processing – see Awaiting Request Processing but first apply the notes below to evaluate what to do. These have been already sent out and came back unfilled so the clock has been ticking. Do these first.

i.Same as for Awaiting Request Processing but watch for issues. Proceed with caution. Read notes.
ii.History tab shows why it was not supplied. Check how many times it has been sent out and reasons for not filling.
iii.If a lending string is shorter than 5 libraries then holdings are limited and we may not be able to supply the material through ILL.
iv.Check not needed after date, which is automatically supplied by the software for I think 3 weeks [value is set in Customization Manager] and determine if the date was software or patron supplied.
v.Do not incur costs if not needed after date has been reached, or if the patron has requested a “shot-gun” array of materials on the same topic. The patron may not need the material any more. Check first with the patron or cancel and let them get back to you if they still want it.
vi.Look for problems with the request

1. Make sure the citation has been verified – normally I cut and paste the brief citation from WOrldCat or PubMed in the notes field but sometimes I skip that step since I know I can always view that information by clicking the tabs in the record.
2. History tab - Auto Deflection - used an Internet Resource format for a serial when only a print record will result in the request being filled
3. History tab - “Not yet received”  may indicate too new for an ILL if it is the current year and month
4. History tab - “Lack volume / issue” on an older journal may indicate limited retention by libraries that hold the title.

 

1. Borrowing tab - Copyright Clearance  Queue

i.Check for duplicate requests using page number column or whatever. Click at top of column to sort by that category. Open duplicates and cancel for the reason This is a duplicate request.
ii.When record is highlighted it may ask for month and year if it can’t figure it out, enter month and year and click OK.
iii.If the title or any portion of the citation is in brackets, this is a red flag that it is not in English. Check the source of the citation, usually PubMed. If it is not in English, email the user from the record using the Article Processed and Ready template, delete all but the citation information, tell them what language it is in in the subject line and body and ask if they still want it. In the subject line add “German only – do you still want it?” or something to that effect.
iv.Watch PsycInfo, ERIC, ProQuest Dissertation records, these may need to be verified in WorldCat or Google or the database and rebuilt. PsychInfo puts article title in journal title field, has been reported to Jennifer in the past. If the ISSN is in the record Copyright Clearance tab will find the journal title. If so, you can open the record and copy and paste the journal title into the correct field and proceed.  
v.If you see Proquest Dissertation Abstracts as the journal article in copyright clearance tab you need to open the record and rebuild it as a Loan and route to Awaiting Request Processing with no referral to the Diss Abs information. I normally enter Dissertation somewhere in a note or in one of the citation fields so I know it will likely be problematic to find holdings.
vi.ILLIad will bring up matching titles at the bottom of the screen, select the match and click No Problem.  There may be more than one entry for the same journal, it doesn’t really matter which one you use.
vii.If no titles display at the bottom open record and check for ISSN number, you will need it anyway. Google [journal title] ISSN and add to record. If no match, open the record and look for any abnormalities, fix if needed and then click No Problem.
 

1. Awaiting Request Processing - Sort by books and articles. Books take longer to get here so do books first.

i.Books / returnables

1. Open record and verify and fix citation using tabs in the record; WorldCat, Google, Amazon, PubMed Single Citation, OCLC tab, and then the source database if needed.
2. The most important data element is the ISBN for searching. OCLC number is too narrow most of the time.
3. Consider if we should order for this collection, send ACQ email to subject librarian. I normally put a subject line like this “ACQ History Amazon $57 2014”, put ACQ note in record. When loaned item is received you might add to patron notification email that we are also purchasing a copy for the collection.
4. If we own per OCLC-
   1. E-books - Use Cancel template – Avail Stacks and say e-book available through the online catalog record
   2. Print books- pull book and hold until you know if a Distance patron wants Document Delivery . Use Cancel template enter class number and collection on lower right. Harrogate patrons, cancel and send email with class number and collection.
5. If we own the book, pull and give to Mike, cancel and email patron to contact Mike by email to request a loan. We should wait for verification from the Distance patron of their request to borrow from LMU before doing an intra-campus loan since they incur charges to return.
6. If not owned, search and select best record (not Internet Resource) with most holdings.
7. Holdings tab - Holdings on Borrowing Processing Ribbon, select Default ALICE /LVIS  in that order. SOLINE does not mean free. Hover over symbol to see charges. On holdings display, right click symbol and click Policies Directory to view additional information such as materials that do not circulate, or loan and renewal periods. Select Lending libraries that do not charge. If no holdings you can select Regional or All. If less than 5, select those that do not charge and finish processing request. Put note in Details tab, e.g., “After first lending string 3 libraries charge $15-$40”. Think and decide before sending something out that generates fees. Consider contacting patron before you process the request just in case they no longer want it. Sometimes they “shot gun” everything they see on a topic and then don’t need all the material.
8. Create work form / Send request / Request Sent
   1. Some strange stuff can happen once ILLiad associates the request with an OCLC record, it may not be the one you selected. So review the information before clicking Request Sent. If you don’t agree with what you see, you can immediate cancel in WSILL using the ILL number and get another chance to make it work.

 
ii.Articles – non-returnables

1. After requests clear the copyright queue, open a record to verify the citation using tabs:  WorldCat, Google, Amazon, PubMed, OCLC and also the source database if applicable. If the request was auto-submitted from one of our databases the database name shows in the lower right corner. Copy and paste in the notes field the one line citation in WorldCat or other brief display that includes the journal title, volume, issue, pages. If multiple OPAC records exist for the same item select the one from PubMed or a reliable source like ScienceDirect or ERIC.
2. Determine if medical - See if the request was sent from PubMed by checking the Citation Information [lower right corner] Cited in field. Alternatively if you seed a record in WorldCat using the WorldCat tab that indicates the source is Medline, process as a medical request. DOCLINE normally implies faster responses.
   1. Search using Google tab, find the NLM record, and copy and paste “PMID” and the PMID number into a note field. Or Single Citation search PubMed using the PubMed tab and Open docline / Borrowing / PubMed / Single Citation Matcher
   2. If in PubMed database click the PubMed tab along the top of the citation area. Click “Search & Send” along the top ribbon. You will be prompted by Docline to enter a PMID in one way or another.
   3. Frequently the ILL Docline number and lender symbol does not transfer to the ILLiad record and this will generate a warning message. If so, go back to the PubMed tab and copy the Docline ILL number and the lending library symbol and paste into the ILLiad record in the upper right side of the record. Save, click Display tab, click Request Sent at the top of the record.
3. You may email patron if you have questions or need to communicate about anything using the email template for Article and delete the part about ready for pickup.
4. OCLC Tab above the citation – search using the yellow highlighted key [this is the recommendation of the software for which search key to use] - use other search keys as needed. It is better to search ISSN and ISBN for a broader sweep than the OCLC number. You can set filter to Serial, and then click search again. Libraries do not send articles if the record says Internet Resource. Play around until you find a good matching print format record with ample holdings. ILLiad will show alert in red in record if WMS says we own it. Check holdings and if we own it, download PDF to where ILLiad will interface with Odyssey to send. Route to Document Delivery Awaiting Processing. The record will close. Go to Main Tab , search on TN number, click Mark Found Scan Now. Notify Jennifer if SS and OCLC holdings don’t agree.
5. If not owned, click OCLC record with the most holdings that is not an Internet Resource record.
6. Click Holdings tab. Click Holdings on the Borrowing Processing ribbon. Click Default ACA or LVIS in that order and click 5 or more holdings. I normally stop at 5. If you don’t have 5 holdings from those two GACs then do Regional or All and hover over library symbol to view charges. Select those that do not charge when possible. If we need to pay for it check the request with the thought of perhaps contacting patron to see if this is a critical source or if it is still needed. Create workform. Send request. Detail tab, Request Sent. 

Copyright Clearance Queue
Two of the requests in the top half of the screen have the  article title in journal title field. On opening the record it shows it was imported from PsycInfo. ILLiad uses the ISSN to find the matching title for copyright purposes. Verify that the journal title highlighted in the lower box is correct by comparing ISSN or using the WorldCat tab to find, copy, paste journal title to correct the record, save and close. Repeat copyright verification and click No Problem.

Requests Sent queue:
Check weekly.  Be sure Docline requests were not “Lost”
There were maybe 2 articles I had to send an email to ask them to re-send in Docline or mark in WSILL not received. This should be done weekly. Docline are the most serious to follow-up on. Sometimes the libraries will chose to resend in email and these will come into ILL@ for uploading, including NLM.
Open recordàCopy/paste Docline number into Docline search (Docline interface).  If document has been sent but not received, email institution.
Not Received queue:
--got lost in mail?
--did we check it out to patron and just forget to check in?
What if the Lending institution sends the wrong document or an incomplete document?
 That happens more than you think. Sometimes the citation pagination is wrong, sometimes they send incomplete or wrong article.
If the article appears on zooming to be complete…check the citation in the record and if you are comfortable that it is completed, Deliver.
If incomplete or wrong article….close Odyssey after noting the TN number. Open the record, email the lending library from WSILL or Docline about the problem.