Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition! This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students by
From the most-trusted name in nursing comes the drug handbook designed especially for students. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 13th Edition provides you with the latest information on more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs - including 42 new FDA-approved drugs. Drug monographs are arranged alphabetically, and each includes clear dosing, administration, and nursing process information, so you are ready for clinicals. In fact, what sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, drug-specific nursing diagnoses, IV drugs, and medication safety which help you understand how families of drugs work. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this full-color guide also includes a companion website with additional monographs, recently approved drugs, and Canadian resources!! More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Bold headings in coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Common and life-threatening side effects are logically organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendixes. NEW! 42 monographs on newly released, FDA-approved drugs provide up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies. NEW! The most up-to-date information on drug dosage, warnings, and patient information ensures you understand the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. NEW! eBook version available with additional Evolve-only drug monographs incorporated into the book.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Nursing Health Assessment by
Develop the assessment knowledge and skills to excel in any clinical setting. Updated to reflect today's changing healthcare environment, this unique, modern approach to health assessment guides you progressively through realistic clinical case scenarios, emphasizing health promotion, risk factor reduction, evidence-based thinking, and diagnostic reasoning. Effective strategies help you adapt questions and techniques to confidently manage communication challenges, unexpected patient responses, changes in a patient's condition over time, and more. Highlights of the Third Edition Progressive Case Studies in each chapter help you capably apply concepts to clinical practice through: Therapeutic Dialogue displays that hone the communication and critical thinking skills essential for gathering assessment data. Progress Note sections that provide sample SOAP (Subjective data, Objective data, Analysis, and Plan) notes documenting summaries of findings, with accompanying critical thinking questions. Documenting Case Study Findings boxes that summarize abnormal findings in the physical examination (determined through inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation). Collaborating With the Interprofessional Team displays that feature SBAR (Situation, Background, Analysis or Assessment, and Recommendations) frameworks for effectively coordinating referrals or other patient advocacy needs. Clinical Reasoning in Action sections that demonstrate how to bring all the elements of assessment together to determine a nursing diagnosis and related goals, interventions, rationales, and evaluation criteria. NEW! Unfolding case-based vignettes written by the National League for Nursing place concepts in a realistic context and encourage classroom discussion. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts clarify potentially confusing topics. More than 70 NANDA-I Diagnoses with official definitions and defining characteristics Learning Objectives focus on critical information and can help you study more effectively. Clinical Significance boxes emphasize content critically related to clinical application. Safety Alert boxes highlight areas of concern or results that require immediate intervention or adjustments. Key Points summarized at the end of each chapter reinforce the most important content at a glance. Review Questions help you identify content requiring additional review. Tables of Abnormal Findings facilitate fast, effective assessments. Accompanying interactive learning resources such as videos and animations, referenced with icons in the text, appeal to a variety of learning styles.
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by
Writing care plans, understanding and performing tests, and interpreting test results is made easier with Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 6th Edition. This essential resource provides clear, concise overage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify keep concepts. Updated and streamlined content with new tests ensures you have the most relevant information. A new Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes. Tests are presented comprehensively and consistently, in a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test - including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. NEW and UPDATED! New tests have been added and outdated tests have been removed to reflect current best practices. NEW! A Diagnostic Testing for the Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to the top diseases or clinical syndromes.
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam by
Who says preparing for the NCLEX® has to be boring? Using colorful illustrations and fun mnemonic cartoons, the Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 10th Edition brings the concepts found on the NCLEX-RN to life! This new edition is written in a concise outline format to make studying easier, and the Evolve companion website includes approximately 2,500 NCLEX exam-style review questions (including alternate item formats) - allowing you to create practice exams, identify personal strengths and weaknesses, and review answers and rationales. With new content covering culture and spirituality, this study guide gives you a robust, visual, less-intimidating way to remember key facts for the NCLEX exam. 2,500 review questions are now included on the Evolve companion website, adding more 200 questions to the total on the previous edition. UNIQUE! Mnemonic cartoons provide a fun, easy way to review and remember key nursing concepts and disease processes. UNIQUE! The integrated systems approach incorporates pediatric, adult, and older adult lifespan considerations in each body system chapter. UNIQUE! Appendixes for each chapter summarize medications and nursing procedures for quick reference. Alternate item format questions on Evolve prepare you for the interactive question types on the NCLEX examination, including priority drag-and-drop and hot-spot (illustrated point-and-click) questions. Test Alert! boxes in the book highlight key concepts frequently found on the NCLEX examination. Answers and rationales for all review questions show why correct answers are right and incorrect options are wrong. Separate chapters on pharmacology and nursing management help students to focus on these areas of emphasis on the NCLEX examination. Nursing Priority boxes make it easier for students to distinguish priorities of nursing care. Pharmacology tables make key drug information easy to find, with high-alert medications noted by a special icon. Special icons distinguish pediatric and adult disorders, and identify content on Self-Care and Home Care. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the most recent NCLEX-RN® test plan and incorporates important clinical updates. NEW! 25 additional illustrations and mnemonics make the book more appealing than ever to the visual learner. NEW! Chapter on Culture and Spiritual Awareness addresses the addition of Culture and Spirituality to the Integrated Processes in the NCLEX test plan. NEW! Nursing Management and Ethical/Legal concepts divided into two chapters emphasize the increasing amount of administrative duties nurses face and the importance of management of care on the NCLEX. NEW! Priority Concepts added to the beginning of each chapter assist you in concept-based nursing programs in focusing on priority concepts for each chapter.
Community/Public Health Nursing by
Give your students a complete guide to community health nursing! Community/Public Health Nursing, 7th Edition provides a unique, upstream preventive focus and a strong social justice approach, all in a concise, easy-to-read text. Covering the nurses' role in promoting community health, it shows how students can take an active role in social action and health policy - emphasizing society's responsibility to protect all human life and ensuring that diverse and vulnerable populations have their basic health needs met. Clinical examples and photo novellas show how nursing concepts apply to the real world. Written by community health nursing experts Mary A. Nies and Melanie McEwen, this book describes the issues and responsibilities of today's community and public health nurse. UNIQUE! A 'social justice' approach promotes health for all people, including vulnerable populations. UNIQUE! 'Upstream' preventive focus addresses factors that are the precursors to poor health in the community, addressing potential health problems before they occur. Case Studies present the theory, concepts, and application of the nursing process in practical and manageable examples. UNIQUE! Photo novellas use photographs to tell stories showing real-life clinical scenarios and applications of important community health nursing roles. Application of the nursing process at the individual, family, and aggregate levels highlights the community perspective in all health situations Clinical examples offer snippets of real-life client situations. Theoretical frameworks common to nursing and public health aid in the application of familiar and new theory bases to problems and challenges in the community. Healthy People 2020 boxes include the most current national health care objectives. Research Highlights boxes show the application of research studies to the practice of community nursing. Ethical Insights boxes highlight ethical issues and concerns that the community/public health nurse may encounter. Objectives, key terms, and chapter outlines at the beginning of every chapter introduce important concepts and terminology. NEW AND UNIQUE! A Veterans Health chapter presents situations and considerations unique to the care of veterans. NEW! Genetics in Public Health boxes reflect increasing scientific evidence supporting the health benefits of using genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Active Learning boxes test your knowledge of the content you've just read, helping provide clinical application and knowledge retention.
Cancer Nursing by
Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice, Eighth Edition continues as the gold standard in oncology nursing. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it has remained the definitive reference on the rapidly changing science and practice of oncology nursing for more than 25 years. Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the care of patients with cancer, the Eighth Edition includes new chapters on the biology of cancer, sleep disorders, and palliative care across the cancer continuum. The Eighth Edition also includes significant updates to the basic science chapters to reflect recent increases in scientific knowledge, especially relating to genes and cancer. Also heavily revised are the sections devoted to the dynamics of cancer prevention, detection, and diagnosis, as well as treatment, oncologic emergencies, end of life care, and professional and legal issues for oncology nurses. In addition, it provides extensive and current information on breast cancer, including two separate chapters on early stage breast cancer and metastatic breast cancer, and careful attention to survivorship issues.
Foundations of Maternal-Newborn and Women's Health Nursing by
Make sure you fully understand how to care for women and newborns! Foundations of Maternal-Newborn and Women's Health Nursing, 7th Edition integrates essential maternity information into the overall continuum of nursing care to show how to provide safe care in the clinical setting. With easy-to-understand language, this updated text uses evidence-based guidelines and step-by-step instructions for assessments and interventions to help you quickly master key skills and techniques. Also emphasized is the importance of understanding family, communication, culture, patient teaching, and clinical decision making.'This edition reflects the latest QSEN competencies, and the accompanying Evolve website includes review questions to prepare students for the NCLEX® exam! Safety checks integrated into the content help you develop competencies related to safe nursing practice. Unfolding case studies help you apply what you've learned to practice. UPDATED Evidence-Based Practice boxes highlight the latest research and the most current QSEN (Quality and Safety Education for Nurses) practice guidelines for quality care. Patient teaching boxes provide teaching guidelines, including communication guides, directed at patients and families. Critical to Remember boxes highlight and summarize need-to-know information. Critical Thinking exercises focus on clinical situations designed to test your skills in prioritizing and critical thinking. Nursing Care Plans help you apply the nursing process to clinical situations. Chapter summaries appear at the end of each chapter and help you review core content in each chapter while on the go. Updated Drug guides list important indications, adverse reactions, and nursing considerations for the most commonly used medications. Procedure boxes provide clear instructions for performing common maternity skills, with rationales for each step. UNIQUE! Therapeutic Communications boxes present realistic nurse-patient dialogues, identifying communication techniques and showing to respond when encountering communication blocks. Knowledge check helps you assess your mastery of key content. Glossary provides definitions of all key terms. NEW! Reorganized content integrates complications into standard family care, includes new sections on obesity, and recommendations for infant safe sleep environment and reductions of SIDS risk. NEW! Contributing content from known experts in the field of Maternal and Women's health include a former AWHONN president.
