Medical Sciences: Books By Subject

This book overviews ongoing and upcoming clinical applications of basic immunology. Recent advances in our knowledge of immunology coupled with new technologies have aided in the development of efficient cancer immunotherapy, as well as the control of emerging microorganisms such as SARS-CoV-2. However, knowledge of basic immunology has not been fully utilized even after the discoveries of immune checkpoint inhibition for cancer immunotherapy and the development of mRNA vaccination against SARS-CoV-2. There is still room for improving the clinical application of basic immunology. The book summarizes the achievements in clinical applications of basic immunology and highlights what can be further extended to make immunology a more practical human science. Basic immunology and its clinical applications are two wheels of the same cart in the immunology field, which aids in the development of more efficient cancer immunotherapy and rapid control of infectious diseases against microorganisms, including new viruses and classical toxoplasmosis. The exploration of ongoing and upcoming applications of basic immunology in this book makes it a useful resource for immunologists, physicians, molecular and genome biologists, bioinformaticians, and students in these fields.

This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more.

Concise, readable text and an outstanding art program make Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5th Edition, your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals Presents anatomy logically by body region - as well as bonus updated eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, medical and physical therapy clinical cases, a unique Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, and more Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, images, and correlates throughout that reflect the latest advances seen in clinical practice. New and updated Clinical Cases are included in the accompanying enhanced eBook Features an updated neuroanatomy eBook chapter, so you can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy Improves comprehension of complex cranial nerves with a visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function Offers schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for your own anatomy drawings Enables you to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud Evolve Instructor site with a downloadable image bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com

Renowned for its comprehensive coverage and engaging, storytelling approach, the bestselling Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 9th Edition, guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice. A popular resource for a variety of programs, this proven text serves as a complete reference, emphasizing anatomy that is important in physical diagnosis for primary care, interpretation of diagnostic imaging, and understanding the anatomical basis of emergency medicine and general surgery. The 9th Edition reflects the latest changes in the clinical application of anatomy as well as preparation for the USMLE while maintaining the highest standards for scientific and clinical accuracy. NEW! Sex and gender content clarifies important gender considerations and reflects an equitable focus on female as well as male anatomy. Updated medical imaging and integrated surface anatomy within each chapter clearly demonstrates the relationship between anatomy, physical examination, and diagnosis. Extensively revised Clinical Blue Boxes highlight the practical applications of anatomy, accompanied by helpful icons, illustrations, and images that distinguish the type of clinical information covered. Updated introduction establishes the foundational understanding of systemic information and basic concepts essential to success from the classroom to the dissection lab. Revised comprehensive surface anatomy photographs ensure accurate, effective physical examination diagnoses with integrated natural views of unobstructed surface anatomy and illustrations superimposing anatomical structures with landmarks for more accurate physical examination. Insightfully rendered, anatomically accurate illustrations, combined with many photographs and medical images, strengthen comprehension of anatomical concepts and retention of "mental images" of anatomical structures. Bottom Line boxes provide detailed summaries at a glance and underscore the "big-picture" perspective. Illustrated tables clarify complex information about muscles, veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures for easy study and review. Chapter outlines help students find key information quickly and efficiently.

For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice. Illustrated by clinicians, for clinicians, it contains more than 550 exquisite plates plus dozens of carefully selected radiologic images for common views. Presents world-renowned, superbly clear views of the human body from a clinical perspective, with paintings by Dr. Frank Netter as well as Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Content guided by expert anatomists and educators: R. Shane Tubbs, Paul E. Neumann, Jennifer K. Brueckner-Collins, Martha Johnson Gdowski, Virginia T. Lyons, Peter J. Ward, Todd M. Hoagland, Brion Benninger, and an international Advisory Board. Offers region-by-region coverage, including muscle table appendices at the end of each section and quick reference notes on structures with high clinical significance in common clinical scenarios. Contains new illustrations by Dr. Machado including clinically important areas such as the pelvic cavity, temporal and infratemporal fossae, nasal turbinates, and more. Features new nerve tables devoted to the cranial nerves and the nerves of the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses. Uses updated terminology based on the second edition of the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, and includes common clinically used eponyms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides access to extensive digital content: every plate in the Atlas?and over 100 bonus plates including illustrations from previous editions?is enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points of the major themes of each plate. Digital content also includes over 300 multiple choice questions and other learning tools. Also available, alternative versions of the 8th Edition: . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: A Systems Approach-Same content as the classic regional approach, but organized by organ systems. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach-hardback Professional Edition with downloadable image bank for personal use. . Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach with Latin terminology

Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, Ninth Edition, edited by Drs. Bruce F. Cullen, M. Christine Stock, Rafael Ortega, Sam R. Sharar, Natalie F. Holt, Christopher W. Connor, and Naveen Nathan, provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. 

Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation.  Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine.  Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more.  Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review.  Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors.  Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification.  

Organ failure frequently accompanies the clinical presentations of elderly and adult patients in anesthesia practice. Today, despite the technologically advanced follow-up methods and techniques, organ failures affect the clinical picture of the patient and complicate the follow-up. Perioperative complications increase in anesthesia applications of patients with organ failure. It is important to know the physiological changes and clinical effects of organ failures and to be cautious in order to ensure that the patient is discharged as soon as possible with the least postoperative pain and side effects. Literature information about organ failure, which is very common and important in anesthesia practice, was compiled. In this book, a specific topic was chosen and it was aimed to be useful to practitioners.

Today's medical school coaching programs integrate a wide variety of personalized goals, including professional identity formation and academic performance, as well as community building, leadership and lifelong learning skills, clinical skills development, and more. Coaching in Medical Education, part of the American Medical Association's MedEd Innovation Series, is a first-of-its-kind, instructor-focused field book that equips educators to coach all learners and run an effective coaching program, increasing the likelihood of the learner (and thus physician) success. This volume . . . Summarizes a set of robust theories, which form a scientific foundation for coaching competencies Gives clear guidance on coaching, as well as how to design, implement, and evaluate a coaching program in today's institutions. Explains the difference between coaching and traditional advising and mentoring. Discusses how to use coaching to develop the Master Adaptive Learner. Provides various approaches for different levels of learners-remedial to advanced, UME through GME. Offers practical frameworks for individual, team, and peer coaching. Discusses how to use coaching to enhance wellbeing, strengthen leadership skills, foster personalized academic and career development, and increase resilience during change and acute uncertainty. Contains tools for creating an ethical, equitable, and inclusive coaching program. Includes a chapter focused on Assessment and Program Outcomes. One of the American Medical Association's ChangeMedEd initiatives and innovations, written and edited by members of the Accelerating Change in Medical Education Consortium - a unique, innovative collaborative that allows for the sharing and dissemination of groundbreaking ideas and projects. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.?Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

This concise and challenging examination of medical education aims to discuss curriculum design and evaluation in medical schools and to take a fresh look at current trends in patient care and continuing education teaching methods. The ideas and insights provided here are based on the author's long career in clinical practice and teaching medical students and residents. Medical education is no exception to the changes at every level in medicine. For example, the ready access to medical information via the Internet and other media has produced smarter and informed patients. Multi-specialty hospital practice has replaced the individual 'doctor-patient' relationship, perhaps compromising patient care to some extent. New subjects have been added over the years to medical curricula. Nevertheless, there has often been a reluctance to remove older topics, possibly limiting the medical training course's ability to develop as expected. The transition from theories of higher education to the reality of curriculum planning and design is a huge leap. An important question is how to translate the mission of higher education in general which has been variably described as a training of 'reflective individuals' who 'possess both culture and expertise' and can 'master any subject with facility' into a coherent teaching program. The mission of medical education includes the promotion of professionalism in learners by including courses in medical ethics that have become integral to medical education in the USA. However, despite the development of standards and competencies related to professionalism, there is no consensus on the specific goals of medical ethics education, the knowledge and skills expected of learners, and the best pedagogical methods and processes for their implementation and assessment. A significant contribution to the clinical teaching literature, Curriculum Design, Evaluation, and Teaching in Medical Education should be of interest to a variety of readers, including clinical educators, administrators, health care professionals, and especially residency directors.

undamentals and Frontiers of Medical Education and Decision-Making brings together international experts to consider the theoretical, practical, and sociocultural foundations of health professions education. In this volume, the authors review the foundational theories that have informed the early transition to competency-based education. Moving beyond these monolithic models, the authors draw from learning and psychological sciences to provide a means to operationalize competencies. The chapters cover fundamental topics including the transition from novices to experts, the development of psychomotor skills in surgery, the role of emotion and metacognition in decision-making, and how practitioners and laypeople represent and communicate health information. Each section provides chapters that integrate and advance our understanding of health professions education and decision- making. Grounded in psychological science, this book highlights the fundamental issues faced by healthcare professionals, and the frontiers of learning and decision-making. It is important reading for a wide audience of healthcare professionals, healthcare administrators, as well as researchers in judgment and decision-making.

This manual provides a quick reference guide to assist educators in providing authentic feedback, how to address feedback in pre-clinical and clinical situations, and the benefits of two-way feedback in improving instruction. This manual is a collective effort between medical educators designed to ensure authentic feedback is structured for both the learner and the learning environment. This manual enables medical educators to move from theory to practical application in both the preclinical and clinical settings. Through theory, the practical application of authentic feedback becomes a concrete application rather than a profound concept. Educators gain knowledge regarding how theoretical concepts become a reality leading to student success and self-directed learning. The manual guides the educator through the various modalities in which feedback is required to drive student success, such as formative practice, learning environments, small group learning, multiple-choice assessments, and clinical settings. Finally, the manual ends with two-way communication and describes the steps medical educators can take to become reflective professionals. Supported by experienced and evidence-based recommendations, medical educators, administrators, and institutions are presented with checklists, strategies, and best practices for providing authentic feedback.