Doctor of Medical Science : Home

Coverage:
2002-01-01~2008-12-16

Coverage:
1993-07-01~present

Coverage:
1996-01-01~2021-05-01

Coverage:
1997-01-01~2022-01-01

Coverage:
1999-10~2013-03

Coverage:
1998-01-07~30 days ago

Coverage:
2009~present; Volume:20~present;issue:1~present

Coverage:
1980-01-03~90 days ago

Coverage:
2001-04-01~2003-09-01

Offering a thorough, accessible and lively overview of public health for students new to the field, Schneider's Introduction to Public Health offers a broad-reaching, practical framework for understanding the forces and organizations of public health today. Through engaging, nontechnical language, illustrative real-world examples, and the current political, economic, and cultural news of the day, students gain a clear understanding of the scope of today's public health problems and possible solutions.Building on Schneider's engaging and easy-to-read narrative approach, new author team Kruger, Moralez, and Siqueira draw on their diverse perspectives for the Seventh Edition to bring a greater focus on the social determinants of health, ecological approach, and life course experiences as a framework to understand public health in the 21st century. Updated statistics and information in every chapter illustrate the current state of public health.Streamlined organization to better align with a traditional 16-week semester course. New chapters addressing the COVID-19 pandemic, climate change, and mental health.New chapter on research methods, that includes qualitative data.Timely examples, including links to videos and websites, cover public health issues discussed in the text.Alignment with Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) criteria for undergraduate public health.Watch this author interview with author team, Kruger, Moralez, and Siqueira to learn more about the updates made for the new 7th Edition. Undergraduate and graduate public health courses across the health disciplines, including:Introduction to Public HealthHealth and WellnessPopulation HealthHealth PromotionUrban Health © 2026 | 600 pages

Continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, Gordis Epidemiology, 7th Edition, provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. Written by Drs. David D Celentano, Moyses Szklo, and Youssef Farag of Johns Hopkins University, this bestselling text is known for its reader-friendly, accessible writing style and practical approach to a complex and challenging subject, making it a favorite text of students as well as an ideal resource for health care providers, health policy makers, and epidemiologists at all levels of training and practice. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information Includes new examples and cases reflecting modern epidemiology, including lessons from the COVID-19 pandemic and other current topics of interest Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with chapters progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses Features end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice self-assessment questions online Provides a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud Evolve Instructor site with an image/table collection, test bank, and more is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com

Master health promotion for all ages and population groups! Edelman's Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 11th Edition, provides comprehensive coverage of leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans presented within an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. Addressing each age and stage of development, this market-leading text covers the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention for diverse population groups. NEW! Greater emphasis on social determinants of health (SDOH) explores this key topic in public health nursing NEW! Completely revised chapters reflect the most current practice from experts in the field NEW! Content explores increased health inequity in the US, the evolving global health outcomes as a result of COVID, and increased involvement of at-risk communities NEW! Evidence addresses healthcare decisions, as well as maintaining the health and wellbeing of healthcare professionals NEW! Updated language reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model to align with the Next-Generation NCLEX® exam NEW! Updated photos and graphics freshen the view and visually reinforce essential content Separate chapters on population groups - the individual, family, and community - highlight the unique aspects of assessment and health promotion for each group Coverage of growth and development helps apply health promotion concepts to each age and each stage of development through the lifespan Case studies present realistic situations with questions asking you to apply key concepts to further develop clinical judgment Quality and Safety Scenario boxes focus on QSEN-related competencies with examples of health promotion Innovative Practice boxes outline unique and creative health promotion programs and projects currently being implemented Healthy People boxes present goals and objectives relating to national health issues and priorities Research for Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current health-promotion studies showing the links between research, theory, and practice Care plans include patient problems, defining characteristics, related factors, expected outcomes, and interventions Diversity Awareness boxes address cultural perspectives relating to planning care Hot Topics boxes introduce significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion Think About It clinical scenarios open each chapter and include questions to encourage clinical judgment

Essentials of Public Health, Fifth Edition is a thorough introduction to the field of public health, blending public health practice concepts, government public health, and careers in public health.Using the concept of Public Health 3.0 (a set of aspirational goal to move the public health system into the future), the first section delves into foundational public health principles, governmental structures, healthcare relationships, and pandemic preparedness, offering a thorough understanding of the field. The second section uniquely highlights various public health occupations and careers, equipping readers with an understanding of the diverse roles within the public health workforce. Covers the latest trends and concepts including the 10 Essential Public Health Services (EPHS), Health People 2030, health equity, and more.Offers a new chapter (6) entitled Pandemic and All-Hazards Public Health Preparedness which emphasizes the critical lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic and highlights the essential role of public health in safeguarding community health during emergencies.Uniquely explores public health careers, offering 6 job-specific chapters covering careers in Public Health Administration, Environmental & Occupational Health; Public Health Nursing; Epidemiology & Statistics and more. Features updated tables, figures, and weblinks throughout the text illustrate key concepts and provide useful resources. Includes revised and expanded "Outside-the-book" thinking exercises as well as discussion questions to engage students further. Introductory Public Health courses in Public Health, Nursing, and other health disciplines. © 2026 | 350 pages

Designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, Ballweg's Physician Assistant, 7th Edition, helps you master all the core competencies needed for physician assistant certification, recertification, and clinical practice. It remains the only textbook that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. Ideal for both students and practicing PAs, it features a succinct, bulleted writing style, convenient tables, practical case studies, and clinical application questions that enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications. Addresses all six physician assistant competencies, as well as providing guidance for the newly graduated PA entering practice.  Includes five new chapters: What Is a Physician Assistant, and How Did We Get Here?, Effective Use of Technology for Patient-Centered Care, Success in the Clinical Year, Transitioning to Practice and Working in Teams,  and Finding Your Niche.  Features an enhanced focus on content unique to the PA profession that is not readily found in other resources, more illustrations for today's visually oriented learners, a more consistent format throughout, and a new emphasis on the appropriate use of social media among healthcare professionals.  Provides updated content throughout to reflect the needs of the PA profession,  including new content on self-care for the PA to help prevent burnout, suicide, and other hazards faced by healthcare professionals.  Guides students in preparation for each core clinical rotation and common electives, as well as working with  special patient populations such as patients experiencing homelessness and patients with disabilities.  Includes quick-use resources, such as objectives and key points sections for each chapter, tip boxes with useful advice, abundant tables and images, and more than 130 updated case studies.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, as well as exclusive eBook chapters: A Primer on Learning Objectives, A Primer on Item Writing, and A Primer on Team-Based Learning.

Law and Ethics: For Health Professions explains how to navigate the numerous legal and ethical issues that health care professionals face every day. Topics are based upon real-world scenarios and dilemmas from a variety of health care practitioners. 

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text in book-only format includes fully-illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right.   NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle.   UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations.  UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter.