DSOL Law Library - OLD: Research Resources

Search for eBooks and eJournals in any of the databases the law library subscribes to; alphabetically arranged.

ALM Legal Intelligence offers detailed business information and competitive intelligence about the legal industry to top U.S. and international law firms and their clients through an online database of industry leading surveys that cover attorney counts, billing, branch offices, corporate representation and capital markets work, corporate legal departments, diversity and pro bono.

The Almanac of the Federal Judiciary provides judicial profiles that include reliable inside information based on interviews with lawyers who have argued cases before the federal judiciary for every federal judge and all the key bankruptcy and magistrate judges. Profiles include each judge's academic and professional background, experience on the bench, noteworthy rulings, and media coverage; candid, revealing commentary by lawyers, based on first-hand experiences before their local federal judges; and insight into each judge's style, demeanor, knowledge, and management of courtroom proceedings.

AquaBrowser Library provides a unified search solution. A one-stop information portal helps users find information in less time by connecting users to the library catalog, local databases and archives, websites and documents, and subscription databases. One federated search in Aquabrowser produces results from all of the law library’s resources in all formats.

Follow the BNA Core Plus Collection link (above) and select the publication of interest.

CALI (Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) provides online interactive tutorials in legal subjects, created by faculty members from a consortium of law schools. Password required for access.

Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from its world-renowned publishing program. LMU subscribes to more than 900 titles in the law collection, with access to more than 10,000 additional titles in other disciplines across science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences. Purchased titles are identified with a green “P” icon.

LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Law School provides students and faculty with a next-generation legal learning platform by integrating text, audio, video, and rich media into an easily searchable database. Download MP3 files of edited judicial opinions, the full text of edited opinions, a brief fact summary, and the rule of law through Courtroom Cast. Browse by subject or casebook or search by keyword. Register to create an account through LMU Duncan School of Law.

The CQ Press Political Reference Suite contains the following publications from CQ Press: CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics of the World, and the Supreme Court Yearbook. SAGE resources include: Congress A-Z, Elections A-Z, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Document Series, The Supreme Court Compendium, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Voter Turnout in the United States 1788-2009, The Presidency A-Z, The Supreme Court A-Z, and The U.S. Constitution A-Z.

CQ Researcher provides in-depth, single-themed, 12,000-word reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report contains an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher contains archives of all CQ Researcher reports from 1991, to present and all Editorial Research Reports from 1923 to 1991.

EBL offers content across all subject areas, offering more than 100,000 titles from hundreds of academic publishers. Patrons can browse all books and utilize full-text search within the browser. Titles can be accessed either online, through EBL’s PDF-based reader, or by downloading Adobe Acrobat ebooks to a PC, laptop, or PDA for offline use. EBL’s pay-per-use model provides a “just-in-time” solution for libraries and patrons and a possible alternative to interlibrary loan.

ABC-CLIO’s eBook Reader provides access to more than 6,200 law-related digital books.

The eBrary Academic Complete collection provides access to thousands of books in a digital format. With eBrary you create a custom bookshelf, open documents without downloading, and navigate to every occurrence of your search term or through the contents linked from the table of contents.

Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online was the most ambitious single scholarly digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history — The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.

Fastcase is a legal research system that offers comprehensive access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, regulations, court rules, and legal forms.

Gale Digital Collections makes rare, previously impossible-to-access printed matter viewable in a digital format. From the 1100s to the 2000s; from the Wild West to the Far East; from culture and business, to politics and war, to religion and government; this remarkable, ever-expanding resource supports the needs of today's scholars, faculty and students and enhances the value and reputation of any library that offers it.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Google Scholar provides a way to broadly search across many scholarly disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publications, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

U.S. Government Publications.

The Guide to State Judicial Clerkships is a comprehensive guide to the procedures for applying for state court judicial clerkships at all levels in all 50 states and some U.S. territories. Requires a password for access.

HeinOnline provides online access to more than 40 million pages of historical legal periodical content and other library collections. The content is in the original page-image (PDF) format, ensuring the authenticity of the original hardcopy document in an online environment.

The ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals includes 44+ titles that available as full color PDFs, fully searchable and updated weekly.

This collection is a compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States, as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.

Hoover’s Academic includes up-to-date company and industry coverage, well researched biographical information about company executives, documents, press releases, investment research, and stock information, plus more.

This database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.

The JSTOR (Journal Storage) archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the1600s. New titles and disciplines are being added regularly. Issues of journals are never “out;” they are always accessible, and in excellent condition. The capacity for searching across disciplines opens up vast possibilities for scholarship and research.

Lexis Advance is a legal research and analysis database that provides full-text access to caselaw, statutes, regulations, rules, court documents, and secondary sources. Lexis Advance ID required for access.

Loislaw is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, and affordable online legal research service. From its beginning in the late 1980s, Loislaw has pioneered new products and new technology for the digital legal information market. LMU subscribes to libraries in Business Practice Law, Construction Law, Drunk Driving Defense, Elder Law, Employment Discrimination Law, Employment Law, Estate Planning, Evidence, Family Law, General Litigation, Internet and E-commerce, Limited Liability Company, Personal Injury Law, Product Liability Law, and Real Estate Law.

“The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926″ provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

The term “primary sources” is used not in the historian’s sense of a manuscript, letter, or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute, or regulation. Designed to complement The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, this archive offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.

Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.

The Making of the Modern World provides digital images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text coverage includes millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) and includes content relevant to subjects such as history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

Includes 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 2) British Politics and Society; 3) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and 4) the Corvey Collection of European Literature: 1790-1840.

OSO provides access to nearly 1,000 legal monographs.

ProQuest® Congressional is the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. With the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, the Congressional Research Digital Collection, the Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, or the Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection, the full text of publications dating back in some cases as far as the late eighteenth century in searchable PDF format. The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. For more information, follow this link to the ProQuest Congressional & Executive Branch Documents LibGuide.

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

For more information, follow this link to the Quick Start Legislative Insight LibGuide.

Access the fulltext of more than 231,257 ejournals and ebooks within the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Law collection.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For more information, follow this link to the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. LibGuide.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. For more information, follow this link to the Statistical Datasets LibGuide.

Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

Westlaw is a legal research and analysis database that provides full-text access to caselaw, statutes, regulations, rules, court documents, and secondary sources that include West Headnotes and the West Key Numbering system. Westlaw ID required for access.