Lincoln Memorial University Libraries: Literature: Find Sources

Databases

LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) is the most authoritative and comprehensive primary and critical text database for literary research at all levels. The collection includes full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose stretching back to the 8th century through to the present day. Additionally, Literature Online enhances the study of primary works with its audio and video components; a library of over 900 videos featuring poets reading their own and others’ works and dramatic audio recordings of all of Shakespeare’s plays in the renowned Complete Arkangel Shakespeare series. This comprehensive collection of primary works, with thousands of titles unique to Literature Online, including over 425 volumes from the indispensable Penguin Classics series, provides essential content for all arts and humanities faculties, as well as for literature departments.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly projects demand reliable content. Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history and features more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a shared digital library of selected scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It currently includes more than 2,300 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published to about 3-5 years ago, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. We have digitized more than 50 million pages and continue to digitize approximately 3 million pages annually.

Find Primary Sources

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online This link opens in a new window Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online was the most ambitious single scholarly digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history — The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Literature: Find Sources

Catalog Search Bar

Databases

Find Primary Sources

sources