Skip to main content

Carnegie Vincent Library Home: Library Services

 

Library Services

All Services

Borrowing Books and Articles

Checking out books is easy!  All you need to do is visit the library or the library website. You can also renew your books online. If you live off campus, we can even mail your books to you!

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Interlibrary Loan requests should be submitted via the ILLiad system by accessing the Interlibrary Loan Services link. It is important that the requester check the Carnegie Vincent Library online catalog and journal lists to determine that the items are not in the library collections before completing an interlibrary loan request.

Arrival Time, Pickups and Returns
Harrogate Campus
Materials usually arrive within two (2) weeks after a request is made. In some instances the process may take longer. The interlibrary loan staff notifies borrowers by email via the ILLiad system when the requested item has arrived. Items should be picked up and returned to the library's circulation desk.  

Extended Campuses
Items requested by patrons at extended learning sites will be shipped to the patron's home address. Because the item must first arrive at Carnegie Vincent Library then be shipped elsewhere, the process could take up to four (4) weeks. Patrons at extended learning sites are responsible for the cost of shipping the item back to Carnegie Vincent Library. Please return the item to:
      Carnegie Vincent Library
      Lincoln Memorial University
      Box 2012
      Cumberland Gap Parkway
      Harrogate, TN  37752

Loan Periods and ILL
Loan periods vary by institution. The due date for ILL items is posted in the ILLiad system under a user’s account. In order to remain in good standing with lending institutions so that we may continue to borrow materials from them, please return interlibrary loan items on time.

Charges and ILL
There is no charge for processing the standard interlibrary loan service for LMU faculty, staff and students. However, borrowers are responsible for any costs charged by the lending institution including overdue fines, general lending fees and replacement of lost or damaged items. Late fines will be charged by Carnegie Vincent Library at the rate of $.15 per day, per item. Students using the interlibrary loan service at extended learning sites will be responsible for paying the shipping cost of returning items to the Carnegie Vincent Library.

Reference Assistance and Consultation Services

Students and faculty in the distance learning community can receive reference assistance through the following means:

  • Face-to-Face: At both the Carnegie-Vincent Library in Harrogate and the Cedar Bluff extended learning site
  • Email: library@lmunet.edu
  • Phone: 800.325.0900 ext. 7079
  • Virtual Chat: Staffed 58 hours/week; available on the library website

The Librarian Is In

A librarian is always available at the reference desk to assistance students with: 

  • How to find resources in the library catalog
  • Help with research
  • Navigating the internet
  • Managing citations 
  • Finding an item on reserve 
  • And much more!

User Education Services

Upon request, the Extended Learning Sites Librarian or subject liaison librarians will travel to the extended learning sites to provide face-to-face classroom instruction. Contents of presentations (i. e. PPT slideshows and handouts) can be posted online via the online library subject guides or via Blackboard - just email library@library.lmunet.edu.

Online access to over 37 online research guides created by librarian subject liaisons are available on the library website.

Instruction Services

Librarians routinely present and provide instruction to classes at all levels. Much of our instruction is related to information literacy. To schedule an instruction session, contact your subject librarian or call or email the library directly.

Equipment Scheduling (for faculty and staff use only)

Types of equipment offered by the library include:

  • LCD Projectors
  • Overhead Projectors
  • Televisions
  • VCRs
  • DVD & CD Players
  • Audience-Cassette Players
  • Slide Projectors
  • Projector Screens 

For more information on borrowing this equipment, please call the library at 423.869.7079 (toll free: 1.800.325.0900 ext. 7079).

Course Reserves (for faculty only)

The Reserve Collection is comprised of library or personal materials that circulate for 2 hour, 24 hour, or 3 day periods as requested by the faculty. Electronic reserves are available for items in the electronic collections.  To place an item on reserve either visit the library circulation desk or call us at 423-869-7079.

Research and Course Guides

Research guides are online web pages created by librarians to help patrons perform various tasks, such as using library resources or doing research. We offer a number of guides in subjects like Allied Health, Arts and Humanities, Business, Education, Information Literacy, Math and Sciences, Nursing, and Social Sciences.

Loading

Service Policies

Fees and Charges

  • Item check-outs: Free 
  • Help and instruction: Free
  • Interlibrary loan and document delivery: Free (extended campus patrons pay return USPS shipping on returnable items)
  • Overdue fines: $0.15 per day per item with $10.00 max per person (faculty and staff excluded)
  • Lost item: Replacement cost, plus accrued overdue fines, plus $20.00 processing fee per item (fee is waived for faculty and staff)
  • Copying: $0.10 per black and white copy; $0.15 per color copy
  • Laminating: $0.50 per 12 inches of material
  • Fax transmission: $1.00 per outgoing page and free cover sheet (LMU employees work related fax transmission is free)
  • Fax reception: Free

Library Tutorials

Watch more library tutorials here!

LMU Locations and Services

Alcoa (Blount County), TN (Alcoa City Center, 234 E. Howe Street, Alcoa, TN 37701 | 865.273.1544)
Librarians will travel to Alcoa/Blount upon request.

Chattanooga, TN (Chattanooga State Community College, 4501 Amnicola Hwy., Chattanooga, TN 37406 | 706.537.0323)
Librarians will travel to CSCC upon request.

Corbin, KY (Baptist Health Corbin, 1 Trillium Way, Corbin, KY 40701 | 606.523.8654)
Librarians will travel to Corbin upon request.  A collection of approximately 190 print titles is shelved at the Corbin site.

Ewing, VA, extension of Harrogate Campus (DeBusk Veterinary Teaching Center, 203 DeBusk Farm Drive, Ewing, VA 24248 | 800.325.0900)
Librarians will travel to DVTC for on-site instruction.

Kingsport, TN (Kingsport Higher Education Center (KHEC), 300 W. Market Street, Kingsport, TN 37660 | 423.354.5522)       
Library services are supported by Northeast State Community College, located on the top floor of the Kingsport Center for Higher Education.  LMU Librarians travel to the Kingsport site upon request.

Cedar Bluff (421 Park 40 North Blvd., Knoxville, TN 37923 | 865.693.1570)
In addition to the Carnegie-Vincent Library in Harrogate, the Library maintains a collection of over 1,776 print items at the Cedar Bluff extended learning site. The Cedar Bluff library is open six days per week and is staffed by the Extended Learning Sites Librarian, two full-time and one adjunct librarians. Ten laptops and seating for 18 are available.

Duncan School of Law (601 Summit Hill Drive, Knoxville, TN 37920 | 865.524.5286)
Doctor of Jurisprudence (JD)
The Law library is fully staffed and offers many of the same services available at the main Harrogate campus.

Middlesboro, KY (Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College, 1300 Chichester Avenue, Middlesboro, KY 40965 | 606.242.2145 or 865.585.8929)

Morristown, TN (Walters State Community College, 500 South Davy Crockett Parkway, Morristown, TN 37813 | 423.318.2750) 
Library services are supported by Walters State Community College.

Sevierville, TN (Walters State Community College, 1720 Old Newport Highway. Sevierville, TN 37876 | 865.286.2777)  
Library services are supported by Walters State Community College.

Loading

Distance Learning Services

The Lincoln Memorial University Carnegie-Vincent Library is dedicated to supporting the informational, research, and instructional needs of students and faculty who are enrolled in LMU’s online courses or in programs offered at LMU’s extended learning sites. The library currently provides the following services to the distance learning community:

Reference Assistance and Consultation Services

Students and faculty in the distance learning community can receive reference assistance through the following means:

  • Face-to-Face: At both the Carnegie-Vincent Library in Harrogate and the Cedar Bluff extended learning site
  • Email: library@lmunet.edu
  • Phone: 800.325.0900 ext. 7079
  • Virtual Chat: Staffed 58 hours/week; available on the library website

Electronic/Web-based Resources

User Education Services

Upon request, the Extended Learning Sites Librarian or subject liaison librarians will travel to the extended learning sites to provide face-to-face classroom instruction. Contents of presentations (i. e. PPT slideshows and handouts) can be posted online via the online library subject guides or via Blackboard. 

Online access to guides created by librarian subject liaisons are available on the library website.

Document Delivery Services

Interlibrary Loan Service

Print books borrowed via ILL are sent directly to homes of students and faculty attending extended learning sites via USPS. Students/faculty are responsible for returning the items to the Carnegie-Vincent Library before the due date (hand delivery or mail). Articles borrowed via ILL are usually delivered electronically.

Print books owned by the Carnegie-Vincent library can be sent directly to the homes of students and faculty attending extended learning sites upon request. Articles from print journals or chapters from print books can be scanned and delivered electronically. Students/faculty may return books to the library either on the main campus or at LMU’s Cedar Bluff site. Just submit the online form: Book Delivery

Additional Library Sites

In addition to the Carnegie-Vincent Library in Harrogate, the Library maintains a collection of over 1,776 print items at the Cedar Bluff extended learning site. The Cedar Bluff library is open six days per week and is staffed by the Extended Learning Sites Librarian, a full-time staff member, and an adjunct librarian. Ten laptops and seating for 18 are available.

Small collections of print books and DVDs (approximately 300 total items) are also available at the Alcoa, Corbin, and PRMC extended learning sites.