Lincoln Memorial University Libraries: Osteopathic Medicine2: Writing & Research

Resources

Guide to Effective Grant Writing by Otto O. Yang
ISBN: 9781461415817
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
Successful Grant Writing by Laura N. Gitlin; Kevin J. Lyons
ISBN: 9780826132741
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including community-based participatory research, mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, and dissertation and , mentorship proposals. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-by-step process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers.
Successful Grant Writing by Laura N. Gitlin; Kevin J. Lyons
ISBN: 9780826101037
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
"This book is easy to read and understand. It is a great resource for individuals wishing to write grants. I have not seen another book that is this comprehensive and user-friendly." Score: 92, 4 Stars.--Michalene A. King, PhD, RN, CNE in Doody's Medical Reviews This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, secondary analyses, translational research, and comparative effectiveness studies. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-wise process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions including software such as RefWorks and google alerts Enlarges appendices to include charts, graphics, grant application samples and Aims page samples full of errors with answers provided

The A-Z of Medical Writing by Tim Albert
ISBN: 9780585392820
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The purpose of this book is to help doctors and health professionals with their writing problems. It consists of several hundred topics, from the process of writing to authorship, and from the use of semi-colons to the law of late literals. These are arranged alphabetically with cross referencing.
The Clinician's Guide to Medical Writing by Robert B. Taylor
ISBN: 9780387222493
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
This book is for any clinician who wants to write. It is for the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who sees patients and also wants to contribute to the medical literature. It is for the assistant professor aspiring to promotion and the clinician in private practice seeking personal enrichment. Loaded with practical advice and real-world examples, this text benefits readers who are new to medical writing and those who have authored a few articles or chapters and want to improve.Readers relate to this book because it is written by someone who has been in their shoes. Dr. Robert B. Taylor is a leader in the field of family medicine. Unlike the authors of many other books who have little experience outside of academia or publishing, writing is just one component of his career. He wrote this book to share what works and what doesnt in medical writing. Clinicians learn how to translate observations and ideas from their practices into written form and eventually into print.
Effective Medical Writing by Thomas Buckingham
Call Number: R119 .B83 2017
ISBN: 9780999435106
Publication Date: 2017-10-09
This book is a complete and clear guide that will help you format your ideas, clinical observations, and research into articles, book chapters, and review papers ready for publication. Medical writing skills are essential for today's clinician or researcher. Successful publication of your scientific work can have a surprising and enriching effect on your career. Dr. Thomas Buckingham, a distinguished writer and researcher, explains the basics of medical writing in an easy to read style. In depth discussions of how to write research papers, book chapters, review articles, editorials, letters to the editor, abstracts for scientific meetings, and case reports are included. This book is loaded with practical and useful information including tips on how to get your paper accepted for publication. Effective Medical Writing will help all authors improve their writing and publishing skills.
Medical Writing by Robert B. Taylor
Call Number: R119 .T395 2018
ISBN: 9783319701257
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words by David Lindsay
ISBN: 9780643100466
Publication Date: 2011-03-09
Telling people about research is just as important as doing it. But many researchers, who, in all other respects, are competent scientists, are afraid of writing. They are wary of the unwritten rules, the unspoken dogma and the inexplicably complex style, all of which seem to pervade conventional thinking about scientific writing. This book has been written to expose these phantoms as largely smoke and mirrors, and replace them with principles that make communicating research easier and encourage researchers to write confidently. It presents a way of thinking about writing that emulates the way good scientists think about research. It concentrates on the structure of articles, rather than simply on grammar and syntax. So, it is an ideal reference for researchers preparing articles for scientific journals, posters, conference presentations, reviews and popular articles; for students preparing theses; and for researchers whose first language is not English. Scientific Writing = Thinking in Wordsexpounds principles that produce scientific articles in a wide range of disciplines that are focused, concise and, best of all, easy to write and read. As one senior scientist observed, "This book not only made me a better writer; it made me a better scientist".
Scientific Writing and Publishing in Medicine and Health Sciences by Daniel Kotz; Jochen Cals
ISBN: 9783110721621
Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Writing and publishing scientific papers is the core business of every researcher, but is often experienced as difficult and frustrating. Good scientific content of a paper alone does not guarantee its publication in a good journal, because various aspects affect the writing and publishing process. This book is a quick guide into effective writing and publishing papers. It provides authors with clear and concise key information on 12 major parts of the process, from how to get started to dealing with reviewers' comments. We describe each part succinct and easy-to-read, structured into background information (''What you should know''), concrete advice (''What you should do''), and a checklist of the main points to consider. Authors can read the book as a whole but can also use it as a reference book to look-up advice for a particular part while writing. With the information from this book authors from the medical and health sciences increase their joy in writing papers and their effectiveness in getting them published in good journals.
Successful Scientific Writing by Janice R. Matthews; Robert W. Matthews
Call Number: R119 .M28 2008
ISBN: 9780521699273
Publication Date: 2007-10-11
The detailed, practical, step-by-step advice in this user-friendly guide will help students and researchers to communicate their work more effectively through the written word. Covering all aspects of the writing process, this concise, accessible resource is critically acclaimed, well-structured, comprehensive, and entertaining. Self-help exercises and abundant examples from actual typescripts draw on the authors' extensive experience working both as researchers and with them. Whilst retaining the user-friendly and pragmatic style of earlier editions, this third edition has been updated and broadened to incorporate such timely topics as guidelines for successful international publication, ethical and legal issues including plagiarism and falsified data, electronic publication, and text-based talks and poster presentations. With advice applicable to many writing contexts in the majority of scientific disciplines, this book is a powerful tool for improving individual skills and an eminently suitable text for classroom courses or seminars.

Creating Effective Conference Abstracts and Posters in Biomedicine by Jane Fraser; Louise Fuller; Georgina Hutber
ISBN: 9781138030930
Publication Date: 2018-05-08
For most biomedical researchers and academics, preparing conference abstracts and posters is an important part of professional life. With good preparation and practice, all scientists can produce abstracts that act as effective ambassadors for their research. A well designed poster can help you to enhance your professional reputation in addition to communicating your data. This book aims to help you achieve these objectives. This book is designed for you to use when you are actually preparing a conference abstract or poster. It is intended to answer the most frequent questions, and to help you avoid the most common problems and pitfalls. Just dip into any chapter and you will find a range of tips relevant to the abstract or poster you are preparing right now. As a researcher and academic, you need to be able to disseminate and communicate your research work and findings. While many will view writing for peer-reviewed journals as the pinnacle of the academic communication hierarchy, being able to write and present conference abstracts and posters is also extremely important. Taking your work to conferences allows you to meet experts from all around the world, to exchange ideas in person and to network with potential employers and collaborators. 'This book is a gem of useful, practical tips covering the entire process - from reading the abstract submission guidelines, through to writing and laying out your poster and creating e-posters. If you are a novice this is the ideal book to guide you through every step. And, even if you consider yourself an expert, there is bound to be some useful information you can glean from the 500 or so tips. By reading this book, in sequence, or by dipping into relevant chapters, you will have all the necessary help with preparing abstracts and posters right at your fingertips' - Catherine Dunbar in her Foreword.
Designing Science Presentations by Matt Carter
ISBN: 9780128153789
Publication Date: 2020-11-28
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More, Second Edition, guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the design, delivery and evaluation of scientific communication, yet these skills are essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap, providing visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters and websites. The book provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations and demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques. Features clear headings for each section, indicating its message with graphic illustrations Provides clear and concise explanations of design principles traditionally taught in design or visualization courses Includes examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters and webpages to aid readers in creating their own presentations Includes numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations.
Tapping the power of Powerpoint for medical posters and presentations by A J Thakur
ISBN: 9789811918162
Publication Date: 2022
This book talks about developing and improvising upon medical presentations by equipping readers with critical technical tips and tricks to use popular presentation programs like PowerPoint or Keynote effectively. The book details numerous remedial measures for qualitative improvement of average medical presentations. It has three sections: first covers the general aspects of preparing a presentation; the second provides practical details and refinements of preparing a medical presentation; the last section deals with niceties of podium and webinar presentations. The chapters cover many serious mistakes and remedial measures to improve average medical presentations, such as a description of purposeful use of colors in a slide, a brief discourse on technicalities of appropriate clinical image formats for projection ensues; the use of drawing and photo-editing programs to inject excellence in the contents of a medical presentation to help it stand out in the crowd, details on the importance of lexical correctness- typography, line spacing and alignment to enhance the impact of the presented text and many more. Several short videos support and actively promote the viewpoints discussed in the text. This book elaborates on the exquisite art of creating remarkable medical presentations for a specialized audience. This book is a must-have for all healthcare professionals of all specialties and grades who make podium presentations in a medical conference webinar or submit posters for display.

Writing Research Proposals in the Health Sciences by Zevia Schneider; Jeffrey Fuller
ISBN: 9781526411303
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
This is your step-by-step guide on how to write successful research proposals in the health sciences, whether it is for a thesis or dissertation review committee, an ethical review committee or a grant funding committee. Using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed research approaches, follow the journey of Liang and Natasha, two fictional researchers who will help you complete your proposal alongside reading the chapters. This practical guide includes top tips from the authors, read-reflect-respond activities and examples of project plans to equip you with all the tools you need to succeed with your research proposal.

Getting your research paper published : a surgical perspective by Anders Joensson
ISBN: 9783131536617
Publication Date: 2011
Written from the perspective of experienced surgeons and veteran researchers, this succinct, how-to manual provides readers with everything they need to prepare, publish, and present a scientific research paper. The expert authors address every aspect of the publication process, including quality and ethics in academic writing, the rules of authorship, grammar, formatting, style, and much more. Each consistently organized chapter begins with a brief summary and introduction and ends with up-to-date references and carefully selected suggestions for further reading.
How to Publish in Biomedicine by John Dixon; Louise Alder; Jane Fraser
ISBN: 9781315349527
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
Getting published is crucial for success in biomedicine. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced writer, you will find this book has fresh, practical tips on everyday issues. Based on the authors' successful training courses and extensive experience of healthcare communications, this book will answer your questions and help you to avoid the most frequent problems and pitfalls. The book is designed to be very practical, and to be used when you are actually writing. It does not need to be read straight through from beginning to end before you get started. Instead, just dip into any chapter and you will find a range of tips relevant to the material you are working on right now.
Journal Article Writing and Publication : Your Guide to Mastering Clinical Health Care Reporting Standards by Sharon Gutman
ISBN: 9781630913359
Publication Date: 2016
ournal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication.
Publishing Your Medical Research by Daniel W Byrne
ISBN: 9781496353870
Publication Date: 2016
What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know by Robert B. Taylor
ISBN: 9783319202648
Publication Date: 2015-08-29
This book presents must-know facts generally not covered in "How To" books about medical writing. Every medical writer, whether a beginner or veteran, needs answers to questions many might not even know to ask. How does your personality type influence your writing behavior, and what can you do to make writing easier for you? What should you ask before agreeing to co-author an article for publication or write a book chapter? What are some of the current issues regarding copyright and plagiarism that authors may face? What has research discovered about the quotations and references found in journal articles? What do you need to know about open access journals and predatory publishers? Dr. Taylor tells some surprising truths about medical publishing, including possible sources of peer review bias and some alarming influences on what ends up in print. He also relates little-known stories about renowned medical writers such as Sir William Osler, William Carlos Williams and Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and the origins of some of medicine's classic publications. What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know provides information vital for every health care professional who aspires to write for others to read: academicians and practicing physicians; nurses, nurse practitioners and physician assistants; and professional medical and scientific writers.

A Guide to the Scientific Career by Mohammadali M. Shoja (Editor); Anastasia Arynchyna (Editor); Marios Loukas (Editor); Anthony V. D'Antoni (Editor); Sandra M. Buerger (Editor); Marion Karl (Editor); R. Shane Tubbs (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118907283
Publication Date: 2019-10-18
This unique and important book provides medical students and residents with the most commonly encountered topics in the academic and professional lifestyle, teaching them all of the practical nuances that are often only learned through experience. Written by a team of experienced professionals to help guide younger researchers, A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher's scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more. An easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific research Emphasizes good communication skills, sound clinical judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills Offers comprehensive guidelines that address every aspect of the medical student/resident academic and professional lifestyle Combines elements of a career-management guide and publication guide in one comprehensive reference source Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary clinicians/scientists A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing is an excellent interdisciplinary text that will appeal to all medical students and scientists who seek to improve their writing and communication skills in order to make the most of their chosen career.
How to Do Your Research Project by Caroline Beardsmore
ISBN: 9781118642511
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Getting involved in medical and biomedical research through necessity or personal choice can be a testing experience. Each step of the process brings its own challenges, from liaising with supervisors, to the lack of opportunities to promote completed research. This brand new How to provides a complete guide to the process: from the planning stages, to execution, write-up, preparation for the viva examination, and how to maximise the impact of your research. It ensures you get the most out of the experience, both in terms of personal development and academic achievement, and even provides guidance on what to do when things don't quite go to plan. An ideal companion, written by an experienced postgraduate tutor, this concise and user-friendly manual is full of practical exercises, key points, and hints and tips, which will give you the edge when dealing with the more elusive realities of medical and healthcare research.
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis Blessing
Call Number: R727 .I58 2020
ISBN: 9781284153774
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
Qualitative research in the health professions by William A Pitney
ISBN: 9781630915988
Publication Date: 2020
This text addresses many of the above issues by explaining the principles of qualitative research in a clear, concise manner and by providing many different examples from the health professions literature. The text can be used independently for an introductory qualitative research course, or as a supplement to other texts for a general research course. We systematically present the content with terms that are consistent with traditional forms of research to reveal how qualitative methods frame a researchable problem, derive a purpose statement and research questions from the problem, and guide the procedures for data collection and analysis. Additionally, we provide information on how to write and present your qualitative research findings. We also refer to published studies to provide specific examples and offer exercises and activities to further your learning of qualitative research. We provide expanded content to situate qualitative research in evidence based practice as well as how to combine qualitative and quantitative methods. Our text is organized into three parts.
Understanding Clinical Papers by Allan House; David Owens; Bridgette Bewick; David Bowers
ISBN: 9781118760284
Publication Date: 2013-09-09
Understanding Clinical Papers is a popular and well established introduction to reading clinical papers. It unravels the process of evidence-based practice, using real papers to illustrate how to understand and evaluate published research, and provides clear explanations of important research-related topics.

Medical Librarian

Jacquelynn Stephens

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

DCOM at LMU-Knoxville

865.338.5708

Subjects: Biology, Health Sciences, Medical Laboratory Science, Occupational Therapy, Osteopathic Medicine, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant