Lincoln Memorial University Libraries: Cultural Competency in Health & Social Services: African-Americans

Nursing & Medicine

African-American Health Coalition. This organization provides resources related to both the promotion of healthy living and the advocacy of healthy communities for African-Americans.
AHA: African-Americans and Heart Disease, Stroke. The information provided by the American Heart Association is catered toward helping with reducing risks of heart disease for African-Americans.
CDC: African-American Health. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides an overview of health trends that have changed in the past decades for African-Americans, while also providing additional information on health risks. These health concerns can be genetic or from environmental factors.
Families USA: African-American Health Disparities Compared to Non-White Hispanics. Information on health disparities.

Show more or less..

HSS: OMH. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Office of Minority Health website.
Medline Plus: African-American Health. This site provides information on common health concerns that can affect African-Americans.

Books for Cultural Caring!

Handbook of African American Health by Anthony Lemelle (Editor); Wornie Reed (Editor); Sandra Taylor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441996169 (E-Book)
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
The U.S. Census Bureau reports particular demographic, social, and health conditions for African Americans. Population-wide, the African American community has a higher mortality rate from cancer and diabetes than the rest of the population, a higher infant mortality rate, and a lower vaccination rate for influenza and pneumonia. The contributions to this comprehensive Handbook of African American Health uncover the specific demographic conditions of the African American population, and outline social interventions for both physical and mental health at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. The 26 contributions to this comprehensive volume cover interventions for a diverse range of health problems, including:-obesity and cardiovascular disease-diabetes-asthma and other respiratory diseases-smoking, alcohol, and recreational drug abuse-risky sexual behaviors-cancer screening, prevention, and survivorship-infant mortality-community and interpersonal violence-mental health. From a healthcare standpoint, it also examines specific interventions for treatment compliance, health care access, and community collaborations. This volume will be an invaluable resource for researchers in medical sociology, mental health studies, public health, health behavior, and African American studies.
Social Determinants of Health among African-American Men by Henrie M. Treadwell; Clare Xanthos; Kisha B. Holden
ISBN: 9781118235188 (E-Book)
Publication Date: 2012-09-20
This groundbreaking book applies the concept of social determinants of health to the health of African- American men. While there have been significant efforts in recent years to eliminate health disparities, serious disparities continue to exist especially withr egard to African-American men who continue to suffer disproportionately from poor health when compared to other racial,ethnic, and gender groups in the United States. This book covers the most important issues relating to social determinants of health and also offers viable strategies for reducing health disparities.

Social Work & Counseling

APA: African-Americans Have Limited Access to Mental and Behavioral Health Care. This site by the American Psychological Association provides information on the lack of quality mental health care for African-Americans. It goes over the factors contributing to the inequalities in mental health care (social structure, poverty, etc), and more. Awareness of the information in this article and related materials can help professionals advocate for improved treatment for African-Americans, who are one of the larger minority populations in Appalachia.
NAMI: African-American Mental Health. National Alliance for Mental Health provides a section dedicated to psychological research on African-Americans, emphasizing the conditions that contribute to the 20% higher chance of suffering mental health issues. Their likeliness to become victims of violent crime, to be impoverished, the lack of cultural competence on part of the providers, and so forth are all discussed.