Lincoln Memorial University Libraries: Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) Research Guide: Find Books &amp; Articles

Finding Articles

LMU libraries provide full-text access to articles from numerous magazine. You can access them one of two ways:

Search the library's Full Text Journal Finder by title.
Choose your selection from the list of results. A list of options should appear to the right. These are the companies that the library subscribes to these publications. You will see that some subscriptions goes back farther than others.
From the list of options that appear to the right, select one of the links. These will all take you to a new page where you can search the magazine/journal like you would search a database.

Or:

Search the library catalog for the Journal of your choosing. You may get a number of results, but you should only need the first one.
From the first result, click on the green "Access Journal" button. A pop-up menu will appear with several links. These are the companies that the library subscribes to the journal through. You may see that our subscriptions goes back farther with some subscriptions than others.
From the list of options that appears in the pop-up, select one of the links. These will all take you to a new page where you can search the magazine like you would search a database.

Search the Nursing Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill provides access to more than 60 medical titles, including the Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment series, Tintinalli’s emergency medicine text, and Goodman & Gilman’s pharmacology text. Also includes updated content, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessments, videos, audio files, board review practice questions, drug information, diagnostic tests, guidelines, quick answers, case files, patient education, clerkship materials, and a comprehensive search platform. Users are able to view from and download content to a mobile device.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Featuring completely new content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text provides nearly full text for nearly 580 of the top nursing and allied health journals available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.

Access to Cochrane Library is now provided through MyLMU "academics", "library" and look for Cochrane Library under "Quick Links".
Epocrates Rx This link opens in a new window
One must register and create your own login for this resource. Includes information on diseases, drugs, and drug interactions. Also includes helpful tables.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex is a comprehensive medical reference on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicine, and patient education and care. It includes information on drug interactions, IV compatibility, and drug comparisons. Also includes a drug identification tool, calculators, and formularies. Disclaimer: According to license restrictions, this resource can only be used for educational and training purposes by Lincoln Memorial University students and faculty in the health sciences and is not to be used for any clinical care, emergency, or commercial purpose. Do not access this resource from a clinical setting.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition This link opens in a new window
This database includes over 1,000 full-text journals that are useful to biology, nursing, osteopathic medicine, psychology, veterinary technology, and other programs of study. Full-text content dates back to 1995.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based resource designed to help medical professionals make clinical decisions at the point of care. The link above will take you to an FAQ page with instructions for logging in. Note that there are different instructions for Students and Full Time Faculty and for Clinical Adjuncts and Residents.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx includes an interactive tool for finding differential diagnoses based on visual findings. Includes information on conditions with visual findings. Also includes components for international travel, child abuse recognition, terrorism recognition, oral mucosa, drug eruptions, external eye visual findings, fever and rash, smallpox vaccination, CA-MRSA, pressure ulcer staging, marine exposures, cellulitis differential diagnosis, female anogenital visual findings, male anogenital visual findings, immunocompromised conditions, nail and distal digit visual finding; and bites, stings, and infestations.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access nearly 900 e-journals and e-books within the Science, Technology, and Medicine collection (including Veterinary Medicine), as well as content from Education and Social Sciences.